Petlife logo

Furfriend Furever

Love at first picture

By Rachael J. DavisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Rockefeller "Rocky" 10.30.2020

I had only recently moved to Tennessee. I was struggling as a teacher, a person, and a human. I had great doubts and was weighed down by my desire to do great things. I found myself constantly at war with some form of societal blindness or decadence. Down here, dogs are commonly left forgotten or abandoned. At first, I tried looking through adoption sites. Many of them offered adorable dogs but were either too far away or too expensive. I had just moved! I could not afford $5,000 for a dog. I wanted to so spend every cent I had to recuse those sweet caring eyes. Some were scams and demanded the money up front without scheduling a visit or get to know you phase.

This hurt the worst for my heart always breaks for the puppies behind bars, in photos, or on the side of the road. I called my mom, crying my eyes out. “They want five thousand for her and it’s like God doesn’t want me to have the puppy. It’s exactly like I said…I can’t afford a 5k pup.” “Honey, you know if it was meant to be It would be in your price range.” She replied, “God knows your limits. You will find the right one. It will be the right one.” I agreed and calmed down. I am a weak heart when it comes to puppies and dogs in general.

As stated, I would take them all in if I could. Good thing the place I live in only allows two pets! I would be in a terrible mess. I am on the hunt for a particular dog; a Doxle. Part dachshund and part beagle. The most adorable little hiking companion a girl could ask for. They are smart. They are protective. They are loyal. And they are energetic. I enlisted my mom to help me find the right one. It took us a bit. But she found him first. A Craigslist ad. One of seven puppies. She called me to tell me it was exactly right because we shared the same birthday. And he was small. Tiny. I saw the picture of him in a blue laundry basket and I even knew he was the right one for me. Black and tan, little dark brown eyes looking mischievous. He had personality and was not yet 10 weeks. So, I called the number on the ad. I got a text message back an hour later saying he was ‘spoken’ for, but she was unsure if they were going to pick up. He had had 4 previous lookers, but none ever showed up. Maybe it was the distance. Or maybe they thought he was a scam. My gut said go for it. So, I told her if they failed to show, text me immediately as I would never abandon a pup like that. Besides, he was too cute to say no to.

So, it was a waiting game. Something about the whole advertisement made me anxious and nervous; the picture I received of him made me more so. I was afraid he was younger than advertised; young pups are easily sold. Weening too early can cause digestion issues and health issues. So, when I get the text that his priors had not come, I immediately accepted it. It was the Thursday before Halloween…that is the pickup date.

Oh, but would not you know that the world did not turn the right of way on Thursday. I apologized and let the woman know I was not able to pick up because my battery and alternator were acting funky. She and I both thought it was the battery. She agreed to change the pickup date to 10/30. I was excited and nervous. I had bought him a carrier, and several blankets to snuggle in. I had them all strapped into my car and ready to go after work on Friday. We were meeting in the Cracker Barrell parking lot. Felt like an odd drug exchange…you know handing over 300 dollars of cash for a puppy dog in a parking lot. But it was worth it. The first little sight of him, and the small snuggles he gave as I held him said we were meant to be. I handed the money over, never looking back.

The whole ride back he got a Cheeto. Boy did he like that. He had issues with worms and finding the right food for him. It took a while, but it was found that he needed more fish oils, so I got him a food that was derived from real fish and mixed it with his venison and bison. They had been feeding the puppy softened Retriever food. He is not really a retriever as much as he is a hunter. The beagle side makes him a hunter as does the dachshund side. He was also just eight weeks when I got him.

Now, instead of sleeping in a basket for clothes, he sleeps on the bed, in his own bed, and on the couch. Instead of a tummy full of worms, he is spoiled with bones and chew toys. He was cared for, but still he found his furever home. He will be seven months in April. He is feisty, and adorable. He is sociable and lovable. He has not made a single enemy and loves everyone. If there was a chance, and it was not meant to be the right doors would not have opened. This is one of those it was a meant to be scenario. He was the match meant to be. Was he abused? No. But was he sold too young? Yes. Do the math yourself, his birthday is 09.07 and I picked him up 10.30. He was tiny but he was worth every moment. He’s the best little companion. Even if he does hate my shoes, socks, and pants.

Rocky and me are inseparable. Adopt, rescue and don't do the puppy mills. Hunt carefully, and find the right one. Rescue with love in your heart and you'll find the perfect companion in no time. And always, without a doubt, trust your instincts. Go with what your gut says is the right thing to do. I did. I got the best little guy ever.

dog
2

About the Creator

Rachael J. Davis

Writing is to share experiences within my own life. I use Vocal to promote my own lyrics and poetry more than anything else. Thank you for reading these simple poems and lyrics. https://lnk.bio/allisnotgold04

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.