Petlife logo

From Woof to Wow: My Hilarious Journey to Becoming a Vet!

I am a vet now, can you believe it?

By Benson AmolloPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Well, let me tell you, it all started with a bet. I was sitting at a bar with some friends, and we were talking about our dream jobs. My buddy Jack said he wanted to be a pilot, and my other friend Lisa said she wanted to be a lawyer. When it came to my turn, I blurted out, "I want to be a vet!"

Now, the thing is, I've never been particularly fond of animals. In fact, I'm kind of scared of them. But I had just watched an episode of "Dr. Pol" on TV, and I thought, "Hey, that looks like fun!"

My friends all burst out laughing. "You, a vet? You can barely take care of yourself!" they said. And that's when I made the bet. I said I could become a vet within a year, and if I did, they had to buy me a round of drinks. If I failed, I would buy them all a round.

I immediately regretted my decision, but I was too stubborn to back down. So, the next day, I went to the library and checked out every book on veterinary medicine I could find. I started studying, and I soon realized that being a vet was a lot harder than I thought it would be.

I struggled through the books, trying to learn the names of every bone in a dog's body and the symptoms of every possible disease. I even started watching "Dr. Pol" religiously, taking notes on every procedure he performed.

But the real challenge came when I started trying to get hands-on experience. I volunteered at the local animal shelter, but the dogs were all so scared and aggressive that I was too scared to get close to them. I tried to practice giving shots on my friend's dog, but I ended up hitting a nerve and making him yelp in pain.

I was ready to give up, but then I had an idea. I decided to start a mobile veterinary service, where I would go to people's houses and take care of their pets. I figured this way, I could ease into the job and get more comfortable with animals.

My first client was a woman who had a poodle with a skin condition. I arrived at her house, dressed in my new vet scrubs, and confidently approached the dog. The poodle promptly bit me on the hand.

Undeterred, I tried to give the dog a shot. But when I went to stick the needle in, the poodle bit me again, this time on the other hand. I had to tell the woman that I couldn't treat her dog, and she ended up calling a real vet to take care of it.

But I didn't give up. I kept practicing and learning, and eventually, I started to get better. I got a few more clients, and I even managed to give a dog a shot without getting bitten.

And then, one day, I got a call from a woman whose cat was having trouble breathing. I rushed over to her house and examined the cat. I knew exactly what was wrong, and I was able to treat the cat on the spot.

The woman was so grateful that she recommended me to all of her friends, and before I knew it, I had a thriving mobile vet business.

I still can't believe I became a vet, but it just goes to show that if you're determined enough, you can do anything. And, if all else fails, just make a bet with your friends and see where it takes you!

dog
Like

About the Creator

Benson Amollo

Award-winning journalist whose work vests at the intersection of technology, politics, culture and health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.