Petlife logo

From Picky Eater to Plate Cleaner: Oatley's Love Affair with Ollie

...and it's mom-approved too.

By Briana PowersPublished 2 months ago 4 min read

Supported byOllie

2

Meet Oatley - my two and a half year old Sheepdog/Poodle mix. He is ninety pounds of absolute pure floof, fun and sass. Whether we are trailing through the woods on a hike, playing fetch by the beach, or grabbing coffee in the city, Oatley & I are attached at the hip. I am definitely that dog parent who treats my pup like my human child - no shame! I always want to give him the best of everything, especially when it comes down to the food he eats.

I once heard that some of the longest living dogs ate fresh food, so I had always been looking into incorporating more into his diet. Oatley is definitely a man who knows what he wants - leading him to be a tough critic when it comes to his mealtimes. It’s always hard for me to find new fresh food toppers that he enjoys. I’d waste my money on other store bought brands just for him to give them a quick sniff and walk away. When I had heard such great things about Ollie, I was definitely weary that we’d run into the same issue, but decided to give it a shot anyway. I am so glad we did…

Learning About Ollie

Ollie is a subscription dog food company that offers clean, simple meals using high quality ingredients.. exactly what we were looking for! They offer both fresh and baked dog food, but I opted to start incorporating the fresh food in hopes it would get him a little more excited about meal time. After seeing they offer five different protein recipes, I had high hopes we would find at least one that was Oatley approved. It was refreshing to read their ingredients knowing I would use all of them in my own home cooked meals. I gave them some information about Oatley and within minutes they had a customized meal plan for him based on what he likes and what he needs.

Trying Ollie for the First Time

Even after just seeing the Ollie box for the first time, Oatley was intrigued. I think he could smell what was inside and immediately knew something good was coming. I had him try a few of the recipes they offer, but the chicken dish with carrots & rice was by far his favorite. I hadn’t seen him that excited for his meals in a long time. I know we typically don’t want our dogs to be begging at the counter, but it was such a great feeling to know not only was he enjoying his food, but it was so good for him too! He started eating his food so fast I had to bring back the slow feeder we used for him as a puppy. Everytime he eats his Ollie now, the bowl is licked clean. We even brought some over to taste test with my parents dog Stella, who also happens to be a picky eater (runs in the family) and she couldn’t eat it fast enough!

Convenience

Not only is Ollie Oatley approved, but it’s also mom approved with how convenient it is. All they need is a little information about your pup and they quickly have a full meal plan for them. They work with vets to craft the perfect recipe, right down to the exact portion size for your dog. It ships for free right to your door, which is great if you're like me and always wait until the last minute to run out and buy your dog's food. I was happy to see that it arrived frozen, that way in case we are away or we don’t need as much one week nothing goes to waste. We simply take the pre-portioned pack out of the freezer and within 24 hours my dog is gobbling it up. The website is also very customizable as well, giving you the option to skip a box, go longer in between deliveries or even just do half fresh food if you’re looking to just add it as a topper. Ollie really thought of it all when it comes to being convenient!

Dog-Mom Approved!

Overall, I am so happy with our Ollie experience. As a dog parent who wants their dog to live the happiest & healthiest life possible, it’s nice to find a company who feels the same and makes nutritious foods to do just that. If you have made it this far, take this as your sign to add Ollie fresh food into your dog’s diet. Oatley thinks every dog deserves to have a meal so delicious they are licking their plates clean!

reviewproduct reviewdogpet food
2

About the Creator

Briana Powers

Just a dog mom & her sheepadoodle, living in the ocean state!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.