Petlife logo

From an alley to the sofa

Luna's journey

By GvelPublished 12 months ago 4 min read

Chapter 1: "Hello world"

I opened my eyes for the first time in the grimy alley of a big city on a cold, rainy day. I was born sometime before, blind as a kitten. Mind the pun; I was a kitten.

A stray kitten like me didn't have the luxury of a cozy bed or a warm fireplace. Nope, it was all about survival of the fittest in those mean streets. But hey, I was a born survivor. It also helped to have one hell of a tomcat mother to hiss away all intruders.

My brothers - Felix, the mischievous tabby who loved to chase his tail and Whiskers, the little adventurer with a heart full of curiosity, and me – Luna, needless to say, the graceful black and white beauty who could climb fences like a ninja - we were the dream trio. We spent our days exploring the alley and playing hide-and-seek among the garbage cans and discarded boxes. We pounced on imaginary prey, catching flies and cockroaches and leaping between rusty fire escapes. Life was tough, but we made the best of it, finding joy in the simplest things.

The alley was a cacophony of smells and sounds. The stench of rotten food mingled with the distant honking of car horns. Rats scurried about, their beady eyes watching our every move. It was a wild, unpredictable place, but it was our home.

We would curl together in a cozy cardboard box, seeking warmth and comfort. Mama would groom us with delicate licks, and our soothing purrs created a symphony of contentment. In those moments, surrounded by the love of my family, I felt a glimmer of hope. I knew deep down that there was more to life than this alley, that there was a world beyond its dirty walls.

I dreamt of a home with a soft bed and plenty of food. It seemed like an impossible dream, but I refused to let go of it.

*********************************************************************

Chapter 2: "Some good people"

One day, fate smiled upon me. Good-hearted people stumbled upon my alley. They decided to save me and my family. We did not play easy before they whisked us away to a shelter. They had to prove their intelligence to get us in those carriers.

The shelter was like a feline paradise: warmness, food, and affection. I couldn't help but purr with gratitude.

*********************************************************************

Chapter 3: "My name should not be Eliot!"

They named me Eliot. Can you believe that? I'm a fierce, independent feline, and Eliot just didn't fit my personality. But try as I might, they wouldn't listen. They insisted I was a boy, even though my meows were filled with feminine charm. I rolled my eyes and decided to embrace my temporary identity. Note that the accent is on "temporary".

*********************************************************************

Chapter 4: "I am a poster cutie with an attitude"

It didn't take long for potential "for-ever-homers" to line up, each cooing over my cuteness. I wasn't looking for just any hooman. I had standards. They had to appreciate my independent streak, my sassy attitude, and, most importantly, they had to have a comfy sofa. I put on my best show, batting my eyelashes and swishing my tail as I evaluated each candidate with a discerning eye.

*********************************************************************

Chapter 5: "Finally, my sofa"

As my eyes locked with their gaze, I knew – it was them – my hoomans. A couple with kind eyes and gentle hands. They looked past the fluff and saw the fire in my eyes. They understood that I was not just a cute little furball. I was a force to be reckoned with. Their home, or should I say – my home - was a purrfection. A sofa was just begging for my presence. Huge bay window, a dog brother. It was love at first sight or maybe love at first snooze on plush cushions.

This was it—the place I had been searching for all along. My forever home with well-behaved hoomans and showers of affection and treats. I ruled the house with a velvet paw. Every nook and cranny was my kingdom. Oh, the joy of having a warm place to call my own. And, oh - the joy of having my family with me. They adopted all four of us.

As I snuggled into the folds of the sofa, a philosopher in me couldn't help but reflect on my journey. From the dirty alley to the shelter, from being misnamed Eliot to finding my true self, it had been a long and winding road. All worth it for this moment of bliss.

**************************************************

And so, my dear reader, remember that even when life throws you a litter box full of challenges, keep searching, hoping, and pushing forward. Because you never know when your cozy sofa is around the corner, waiting to embrace you with comfy cushions. And when you find it, leave some room for a little feline companion like me—because, let's face it, life is just better with a cat on your sofa. Or better yet – catsss, cause we enjoy feline company too.

The End.

cat

About the Creator

Gvel

Write. Improve. Write again. Meliora. Always the best. In the moment.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    GWritten by Gvel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.