Petlife logo

Fozzy's Story

From abuse and neglect to becoming the King of his land.

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

It was October, 3rd 2019, I'll never forget that day because it was the day that two lives were forever changed.

On my way home from work I passed a local animal shelter. I pass this shelter every single day on my way to and from work. On this particular day I decided to stop in and look around. I wasn't sure what I was looking for, if anything. Immediately, I laid eyes on this beautiful black cat. As I stopped at his cage I just felt like this cat needed me. His big golden eyes glared at me with fear as I tried to speak to him. He was trembling from head to toe and backed in the corner just as tightly as he could squeeze. I also noticed a sign on his door that said "Not for adoption".

I began inquiring about this cat and learned that he was a rescue cat. He had been taken from an abusive home. He had been terribly mistreated, my heart broke as I learned of his horrific history. When he arrived at the shelter his back, left leg was broken and he had burn marks across his body. His previous owner had burned him with cigarettes and when he tried to fight back, he was beaten.

The shelter would not let Fozzy go until he was fully healed and could trust humans again. It was also October and they didn't want to let a black cat go during the Halloween season. I could not turn away from this cat. Every day I stopped and checked on him. I brought him food, blankets and toys. I was blessed to watch him heal and over time he began purring and letting me pet him. The volunteers at the shelter told me that Fozzy seemed to expect my visits and wait for me to arrive.

By December I had fallen completely in love with Fozzy and he seemed to love me just as much. He was fully healed from his injuries and was ready to find his forever home with me. I had prepared a kingdom for him to go home to. He had a cat tree, fluffy beds, toys and everything else that a cat could possibly want. I'll never forget the moment I was able to hold him in my arms and know that he was mine. He would never be hurt or sad again. I promised him the life of a King and that is exactly what he got.

Our first Christmas together was a real adventure for the both of us. Fozzy tore down two different Christmas trees and broke numerous ornaments. I decided to do what had to be done and give him his very own Christmas tree. A tree with no ornaments that he could climb and enjoy to the fullest. He spent most of his time perched in his tree, which was by now glued and duct taped together. He was now a twelve pound ball of fuzzy black fur and he was having his very first Christmas in a loving, warm home.

Fozzy also enjoyed celebrating his first Valentines Day with me. He even received his very own gift bag, complete with toys and treats. His favorite was the red monkey that he calls Rosie. He even enjoys carrying Rosie around the house on his back.

The Easter Bunny did not forget Fozzy. For his first Easter he received a giant piñata full of plastic Easter eggs and toys. He had so much fun batting the eggs all over the house and losing them. For an entire year I was finding lost eggs in the most peculiar places.

Fozzy was finally living the life that he deserved. He was a happy, healthy, loving cat. He was a part of my life, my child. It was hard to remember a time when he wasn't turning my house upside down. It was also hard to remember a time that I had felt so much love and compassion in my heart.

A whole year had passed and it was Halloween time again. It was time to celebrate an entire year of happiness and love. This Halloween Fozzy wouldn't be locked inside of a cage, scared and lonely. This year he had a party where he came dressed as a bat and had a cat food cake made just for him.

This story reflects on our first year together. Now Fozzy spends most of his time napping in my bed and curled around my neck at night. This is his house, his kingdom and he's the boss here. I wouldn't want it any other way.

Fozzy has truly changed my life. He has taught me the true meaning of unconditional love. He loves me at my very worst, when I'm sick or having a bad day. He's my best friend and a real blessing in my life. He has developed a quirky personality and he's very humorous. He keeps me on my toes and laughing every single day.

I cannot imagine how anyone would hurt and mistreat an animal. It's just heartbreaking to walk into a shelter and see so many helpless souls searching for love and happiness. Every month Fozzy and I go back and visit the shelter. We take food, blankets and toys to all of the other cats. I always tell people about Fozzy and encourage them to go adopt. These animals are not damaged, they just need love, something that they've probably never had before.

On two occasions Fozzy was the gust of honor at the shelter on special adoption days. We tell his story and encourage people to adopt and not shop. Fozzy has helped many other cats find forever, loving homes.

Fozzy came from a terrible, painful background. Now he is the most loving, affectionate and grateful animal that I have ever seen.

The truth is that Fozzy saved me just as much as I saved him.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.