Petlife logo

Fostering 101

Making Sense of Fostering Kittens

By Maggie GagliardiPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Dumpling helping me be productive

Anyone can foster. Note: Almost anyone can foster. A traveling salesperson probably wouldn't be a good foster. Apart from that, I think that similar to working in retail or customer service, everyone should foster. Unless you absolutely hate animals or are allergic, or just an awful person, you can learn so much by fostering and become a better person for it. Or don't. That's fine too. Who I am to tell you how to live your life. But if you're someone like me who loves animals and never really thought about fostering or ever considered doing it, here are some lessons learned, good advice, food for thought, and personal insights to help you on your way.

My Backstory (it's short I promise)

I've always grown up with dogs. After our last dog passed away, my mom swore off dogs. So naturally, I begged my mom every week for a year for a dog and for my 14th birthday she finally relented and got me a dog. Casey, a white and buff Cocker Spaniel only 8 weeks old. I had him through apartments, boyfriends, moving to California, roommates, more boyfriends, until after 17 years, he passed away.

Puppy Casey

Of course I was crushed, still actually crushed almost two years later. I love animals but honestly knew I wasn't ready for another dog, a "replacement" of sorts. My fiance wanted an animal in the house, (of course I'm not enough for him I like to tease) but in truth there was a missing piece of our lives. A dull quiet, an empty space.

I know cats are real animals too, but to me there is a big difference between dog people and cat people, and I AM a dog person. So while we pondered the idea fostering, the option of fostering a cat and not dog seemed to go against all that is holy and right in the world.

So I tried to take a step back and look at things objectively.

The benefits: Less maintenance, no picking up poop, didn't have to walk it (or myself) everyday, easy to hide (and not tell the landlord), manageable in a small apartment, wouldn't fall in love or want to keep it. Great. All great things.

What My Mom Said

When I told my that I was fostering kittens she asked: 1. Am I getting paid for this? 2. Am I going to put this on my resume?

Well mom, no & sure. Sorry to burst anyone's bubble, but fostering is not a paid position. Think of it as a volunteer position - that you could possibly add to your resume, right next to frequent donator of clothes to Goodwill. Fostering helps animals get out of shelters and into warm, loving homes, until they find their forever home. You're like a nice B&B for them. Or a long open-ended Europe trip where they get to see new things for a few weeks or months until they run out of money and have to return home.

By Steven Lewis on Unsplash

Does that help explain things...mom?

TRUTH Talk

I began fostering because I wanted the love and joy of having an animal, without the commitment. I know, a bit selfish, but I was still grieving my Casey, and just wasn't ready to move on. Adopting an animal is a commitment. A long, long commitment, both financially and emotionally. And honestly, I just wasn't ready for that. So I'm not a completely awful person. You have to be honest with yourself. Animals aren't an amazon purchase you can just return if it's not your shade.

So fostering was a good compromise to myself. Plus, I knew I could give up a cat and not want keep it for the next 17 years of my life. Though honestly, the giving up is the hardest part of the job.

There's a joke that if you foster and end up adopting the animal you foster you're a foster fail. Funny joke, huh. I mean I didn't make it up. Yes you failed as a foster, but you still won. Every single animal needs a home. So yeah, you may not have given the animal up, but you did find it a home, so win-win-win.

How To Start

In truth, there are so many rescues, shelters, organizations, that are looking for people just like you. Any simple google search will give you a list of shelters and places in your area. Most have websites with information on how to volunteer, donate, and Foster.

*National shelters and even local community ones are great. We've personally fostered with Ventura County Animal Services and Best Friends Animal Society. Both highly recommended if you're in the LA/Ventura County Area.*

The ASPCA is a good place to start

It is your job to read the fine print and get the details you need before signing up. Some things to think about:

- Location - where is the shelter located in relation to me (it is easy/close to drive to for pickups and appointments)

- Expenses - what items do they provide and what out-of-pockets expenses do I need to foot (some will give you everything, while others will only cover vet appointments)

- Sign Up/Orientation - how do I sign up and what's the orientation process (in person or video)

- Ease of Use - if I'm confused now, will I be even more confused later

- Questions - is there a way to get all my questions answered (trust me questions will arise - who is the contact person)

- Return Policy - can I give the animal back if it's not working or an emergency comes up

- Compatibility - do I like the shelter and what it stands for (many people grapple with no-kill vs kill shelters)

These are all things that should be considered and known before committing to an organization. During my research, I realized that I couldn't afford to buy food or litter. I just didn't have the budget for that. So I specifically looked for organizations that provided ALL of the necessary items to foster. Along the way I have purchased many items for the little kitties (I mean, they need to have their tunnel right), but the recurring cost of food was something I knew I couldn't sustain. I had the time, but no money. Make sure you know what resources you have - time, money, support, etc. - and don't be afraid. It is so much better for an animal to be in a warm home, than a sterile shelter. It's ok if your place isn't the Ritz Carlton or Caesar's Place or an amazing glamping experience, as The Beatles put it, "all you need is love".

Groovy. So, now that you found an organization, Sign up. Contact them, fill out your application, get orientated, take your class, tick all the boxes, do the damn thing. Great, that was the easy part. Now comes the fun part.

3 Week Old Dumpling

Side Note

There are so many resources out there. I mean everyone has an opinion, including me I guess, on how to do things. I will say, read the literature, especially what the organization gives you, and do what works for you.

* The kitten lady is a great resource. I have read her page numerous times and even bought a playpen she recommended.*

You Do You

We have fostered three rounds of kittens, and each time was incredibly different. We had different setups, made some mistakes, felt inadequate, but at the end of the day, kittens need warmth, food, and love. That's it. Simple. The trick is to start small and expand. You will know soon enough when the kittens outgrow their space.

By Chunlea Ju on Unsplash

Unlike dogs, you don't have to feel bad about containing them to a small space to start off with. In fact, I highly recommend starting any new foster (cat or kitten) in a small space such as the bathroom (or small spare room with a door). The younger the kitten the faster they'll acclimate. But give them time and space to get settled. Just like you, you need time to chill out and breathe before you have mom or dad in your face bugging you asking, hey are you hungry, do you want a snack, maybe watch some tv, how ya feeling, how was school, you seem moody everything ok? OMG chill! I'll come out of my room when I'm ready! Get the picture?

Understand just how much time you can commit. Don't feel bad if can only foster a certain age or quantity of cats. We felt two was plenty. Some can handle ten. You do you boo.

During quarantine, I was unemployed and my partner worked from home. We had all the time in the world. So we knew we cold foster very young kittens that needed to be fed every few hours. We even coordinated our sleep schedules so I'd stay up late and feed them at 2am, and he'd wake up early and feed them at 6am. It wasn't ideal, but they relied on us for survival, and it only lasted a few weeks. Thankfully, kittens grow up fast, so what may seem hard or taxing now will only last a short while, unlike taking care of a baby where it's months and months of no sleep and constant crying.

And just remember, they need you. Their survival rests entirely in your hands. Kittens die. I know it's awful to think about, but young kittens do die. Fading Kitten Syndrome and Fatal Kitten Diseases are real and are scary when they happen (trust me). But know that by fostering you are actively helping these kittens and saving lives. So put that on your resume!

Back to the Basics

Ok, in case this was way too much rambling and introspection from the author, here is a basic guide to fostering for you.

1. Research and choose the organization(s) you want to foster with

2. Apply and become a foster

3. Decide what age you feel comfortable fostering (kitten or adult)

4. If you go with a place that doesn't provide equipment, buy equipment

5. Decide (ahead of time is preferable) where to keep your foster animal - separate room, fenced area, playpen, cage, hobbit-hole

6. Get you foster animal

7. Give them time and space to adjust (usually a 1 to 3ish days)

8. Feed them, love them, play with them, and tell the world about them

Naiad sitting on my Shoulder

It's that simple! Of course there are nuances and specifics, but that's more for lesson 102. Everyone should feel like they can foster. Because YOU CAN! And if you end up falling in love with them and just can't let them go, guess what, you get first dibs on them. It's almost like taking a pet out for a test drive before you buy, or a long lease, or something else that doesn't sound like I'm comparing an animal to a car.

We have almost kept all of our fosters. This last round we came the closest to keeping them. We miss them terribly. My partner and I will sit together looking at pictures and watching past videos of our kittens, laughing and reminiscing about them. What I like to think is that, we can do so much more as a foster parent. We have so much more love and care to give. And when the time comes for us to keep them we'll know, but until then ... the fostering train will just keep chugging along.

I have a lot of love to give. I know that sounds awfully cheesy. But it takes a strong heart to give up something you love. And I know a piece of my heart belongs with every single kitten that we foster.

Our Foster Kittens (Newt & Naiad, Ewok & Endor, Doughboy & Dumpling)

So until the next round, we wait. Kitten season is usually from March - October, so I know the wait is short. And that's good remember in terms of when to start thinking and planning to foster.

Just remember:

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Maggie Gagliardi

Hey there, I'm Maggie!

Writing about this little thing called life, along with all the ups and downs, ins and outs, trials and tribulations, fighting and fucking that comes with it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.