Petlife logo

For the Love of Pets

The Best Companions

By Nicole "ChaseThePen" SanchezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have had pets in my life since my earliest days, a lot of us have. Few children go through life without asking their parents for a dog (if they don’t already have one) and in my adult life, I remember the joy of picking up my new kitten from the SPCA. My Robby is with me right now, snoozing comfortably on his favorite ottoman across the room. Animal companions fill our lives with joy and comfort, especially in trying times such as these.

I saw a post the other day from a friend of mine. Like many of us, she currently works from home. It was an apology to her husband, who also works from home, because she constantly looks over at the pets and tells them how cute they are. They have three, and I can personally attest to the cuteness of each one, don’t you worry. I’ve found myself doing the same thing, and my boyfriend as well. We simply walk past our little Robert and he’s lying there with his head resting upon his feet. How could we not comment about the adorable scene that we witness and scratch him behind his sleepy ears? Then, when he lays there with all his feet in one spot, how could we not touch his little toe beans? For the record, I have never encountered a cat who cares less about his paws being touched. He usually just ignores it or, at most, gives a slight flick to his tail. I also like to watch him pounce on his favorite toy while Mark drags it across the floor. My fearsome hunter has improved so much recently. Sometimes he even kills the stray bug that makes it inside the camper!

Robby "helping" me write

I don’t know if he likes that Mark and I are home far more than we were, but I know that he has made this experience far more enjoyable for me. He is a point of contact and I talk to him, a lot. Don’t worry. He doesn’t respond. I’m not that far gone. It is a comfort though, and that’s what our pets are on our best and worse days. Does Robby vomit on the floor and sometimes in hard-to-reach places? Does he paw me awake in the morning to remind me of my duty to feed him? Of course. Cats are generally selfish a**holes. Another friend of mine described them as such recently, but quickly smiled fondly and said that she loved hers anyway. I do too. Cats are great.

But maybe you’re a dog person. There are three dogs in the house. Well, two full grown dogs and one puppy. Dogs are loving creatures and I will be proud to have one of my own in the future, but for now, those 3 canines are more than enough. While the puppy is a barrel of laughs, it’s the Jack Russell that I really enjoy watching. He was actually my mom’s dog before she passed. At the time, I couldn’t take a dog in. I felt like I was pawning this ball of energy off on my in-laws, but three years later I know that this was meant to be. While Mark’s mom loves him, it’s her boyfriend that truly found a new friend. Especially in the age of the coronavirus, the two are inseparable. He is a man who moves constantly, always wants to get things done and Johnny is an unstoppable playing machine. He dotes on that dog with such a loving hand. It’s adorable. I know Johnny is thrilled for more human time, especially more ball time. That companionship has certainly made it easier for his human to get through this trying time without contracting unsustainable boredom. I, for one, love interacting with him. He’s a pleasant reminder of my mom and a joy to watch run up and down the yard, forever fetching the ball.

The bottom line is that companionship is important, especially when many of us are purposefully isolating ourselves. There’s a reason for the crazy cat lady stereotype. We all seek interaction and to be needed. Pets provide that. There’s a pet for everyone out there, not just the standard cat or dog. I encourage you to find yours.

I hope you all stay safe and healthy. Check out the chainmaille shop while you’re here. I’m adding new items constantly. Robby has a chainmaille collar and I made him a sombrero for cinco de mayo. I assure you, he hates it as much as you think he does. Also, if you happen to wander onto a bad link, Robby will be there to redirect you.

therapy
Like

About the Creator

Nicole "ChaseThePen" Sanchez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.