Petlife logo

Fireworks on the 4th of July

Some of us would appreciate you respecting our noise sensitivities -----PLEASE LOWER THE VOLUME!

By Bonnie JS EglinPublished 3 years ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
3
  Fireworks on the 4th of July
Photo by isaac sloman on Unsplash

Fireworks - Pop. BOOM! BOOM!

4th of July/ New Years Staple...Anticipation of fun --- for some --- Dread for others.

Symbol of FREEDOM celebration.

Some of us (Me) - jump -anxiety high...

Sound makes the pets freak out, with no where to hide! Do you hear them cry? Plead for the loud , scary explosions to STOP??

Do we stop to consider how this affects our fury friends, our friends with PTSD? Are traditions really worth the cost of another's sanity?

Fireworks may be pretty BUT they pollute our air, they cause injuries & fires, sparks flames burning landing in the wrong place-wrong way direction blown in the wind. Potential danger imposed , by the lighting of each fuse, may just outweigh the thrill of the bang , raining bright bursts of colors-inspire "ooh"& "ahh" .

-Pretty sights - colored fire lights, in the night sky ... Yeah, maybe nice to look at!! But THINK OF THE FRIGHTED ONES PLEASE!! Find a quieter alternative for their sakes!! Maybe use glow stick or lava lamps or pinwheels!

Some of us just want peace from the thunder booms!

THANK YOU from Kitties , puppies , and people with heightened noise sensitivities!

Another issue I have is... That people seem to get the urge to light things off randomly at all times of day ( It's 9am: Why do we need to hear, Boom!, Boom!, screechy whistles... Aagh! Irritating! Again, you feel the need to light the fuse- "BOOM"...at 2:45pm too??)WHY?

My dear neighbors, we never talk . I've rarely seen you. Yet, you sure are noisy with you fireworks toys. Must you make all this noise, at all hours? We never know when we'll be startled, I think it's inconsiderate of you, disturbing the peace.

I'd be fine if you just enjoyed your fireworks- keeping your fun and games; with all the booming contained. Keeping to the few hours of night, appropriately timed to the designated holiday celebrations-where fireworks displays are common tradition. No problem, I can be tolerant of your booms these few hours, for those occasions. That's fine. I can understand the fireworks at the end of a winning night for home baseball game too---for a couple of games.

BUT I HAVE GREIVENCES WITH MY USUALLY UNSEEN NIEGHBORS IN REGARD TO YOU BEING OBNOXIOUS, OK! CAN YOU EXPLAIN WHY IT IS , YOU STILL HAVE FIREWORKS POPPING OF DURING THE DAY? NOW 2 WEEKS OR LONG AFTER THE HOLIDAY IS PASSED? PLEASE! TELL ME WHY? THIS NONSENSE BOGGLES MY MIND! SHOULDN'T YOU HAVE RUN OUT OF THESE DAMNED NOISE MAKERS BY NOW? Geez! Could you kindly finish them off? How about SAVE SOME FOR NEXT YEAR?

GIVE ME A BREAK! My sanity and patience is wearing thin. I don't want to be unkind or disrespectful ... but at this point, it is you who are disrespecting me AND OUR PETS! WE ASK YOU FOR SIMPLE DECENCY! PLEASE KEEP YOUR FIREWORKS ENJOYMENT RESERVED FOR APPROPRIATE OCCASIONS!

We don't enjoy the noise. It scares us- Unnecessarily

It's daylight hours after all.... WHAT CAN YOU SEE? Can you even enjoy the colors displayed as vividly in the day? I would think...just wouldn't have the same aesthetically pleasing appeal to the eye. At least not to me, colors are brightest seen in the dark. Night sky, better accentuates the beauty of the colors- magnifies the hues of red, purple, green...color combinations and patterns on display...in all unimaginable arrays.

To me, it just seems a shame to waste your color bursts-skyscapes beauty-to be dulled from view in the day time anyway. I do enjoy the colors. HATE THE UNEXPECTED LOUD HAIR - RAISING EXPLOSIVE SOUNDS!

Please be mindful of you pets and neighbors with sensitive ears... Please think of us before you light fuse after fuse. Would you consider how you'd feel if you were in our shoes. Would you think us rude? Would you be angry , if we were this insensitive to your anxiety? Just disregard your feelings? Would you sit quietly? Or would you be angry enough to call the cops, file a noise complaint?

Because this is what I feel like doing to you when your so oblivious to how you are upsetting me AND our pets who have hearing sensitivities ten times greater than human beings.

Year after year, we jump, we grow (Yes, I growl too. Same as my cat) , we have puppies who have accidents because the loud bangs whistles of fireworks scare the pee out of them! They beg for some place safe and quiet to hide. They never find it. Do you CARE? NO! Oblivious to your fun! Year after year I fight back the rage I feel- EVERY TIME A RANDOM POP MAKES ME JUMP! I just try to let it go! I'm tired of it now! SO PLEASE STOP! One of these days, I'm calling the cops! So, you might want to mind your manners! Please! I'd really appreciate your respectful gesture as an act of compassion to me and our pets. We'd be so thankful for your kindness. FIREWORKS TIME OUT! See ya next year, FIREWORK and fans! Give Peace to all- puppies , kitties and people like me!

humanity
3

About the Creator

Bonnie JS Eglin

Looking for purpose ( Disabled- Not employed )

Write out my emotions! Let it flow as am compelled....

Hope to be inspired to write poetry( Song lyrics )

My Cat is my routine

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.