Petlife logo

Feline Lifestyle

My life with Cats

By Victoria WadsworthPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Cute adorable little kitten

I live in a badly renovated apartment in Northern Massachusetts with my fiancé, our daughter, two of our friends, and seven pets: Lizard named Remus (named after Professor Lupin from Harry Potter), a dog named Bailey (a German shepherd, Doberman, lab mix breed), a Maine coon named Oliver (Named after the cat in Oliver and company), and found British long hair kittens named Dax, Gizmo (Named after Gizmo from Gremlins), Bella (Named after the female lead in Twilight), and Luna. At one point before we had the kittens, we also had a fourteen year old cat named Chicken. The four kittens my friends, are the topic of this particular article.

The kittens first came to us in May of 2021. They were found living in the electrical shed of our apartment building. No one knew how long they had been there, so we had no idea how old they were when we took them in and gave them a home. If I had to give my best guess, I would say they were probably about three weeks old. They were still only babies.

At first, there were five of them and their mother was very territorial towards us. But then she disappeared with one of the kittens and abandoned the rest. That was why we took them in. though, of course, we had none of the things we needed to take care of them. So, we went out and bought what we needed. That included the KMR kitten formula, feeding bottles, collars, and a litter box.

It was not soon after that we learned how to properly care for them and accustomed to them living with us. It has been three months now, and boy have they grown! Bella and Luna want almost nothing to do with me, but both Dax and Gizmo are absolute cuddle-bugs. Oliver used to be the same way. Now that he is older, however, he is more independent and does not require the same amount of attention he had before.

During the time I have had the chance to spend with the kittens I have learned that we do not own them. They must choose us. Every cat owner knows that you do not own a cat. But the time spent with a cat is never wasted. It is impossible to keep a straight face in the presence of one or more kittens. They are just way too adorable for that.

And there are few things in life more heartwarming than to be welcomed by a cat. Like I said before...I love my cats. All of them. They may just be animals, but they are my children. I love them as much as a parent loves their children. I would never go back and change having taken them in. Nor would I ever give them up for any reason. They are a part of my life, and therefore, they are a part of me. I would never forgive myself if anything ever happens to them.

My house will always be blessed with love, laughter, and friendship so long as they are here. Life is always better when you have a cat companion to spend it with. My personal opinion is that anyone who does not like cats was probably a mouse in a past life. Who could ever hate cats? Why would anyone ever hate cats? A cat can be trusted to purr when they are pleased, which is more than can be said for humans. My cats? They have my heart, and they will always have my heart no matter what. Now, and forever. They are my life and they are all I have to live for.

cat
1

About the Creator

Victoria Wadsworth

I am an altruistic person who likes to help others. In my free time, I like to read other people's writing samples, as well as write my own. I believe that writing in itself is a form of communication from the heart and mind onto paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.