Petlife logo

Feisty The Stray Dog

He was our family

By Myesha PalmerPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
This is an identical picture of feisty

"Auntie" "Auntie" is all I heard when my nephew came running through my front door. I immediately assumed something happened to my son over at the park because he wasn't behind my nephew when he came crashing through the door so I in return looked at him and screamed what! "Is everything ok with Keiandre? As my nephew came closer to approaching me right before my eyes appeared a little beautiful two toned mixed breed white and light brown doggy that needed a full bath.

My nephew had tied a rope around the dog neck and used it as a leash to carry the dog to the house; he kept screaming "Auntie Can we keep him, can we kept him please". This boy was so adamant that we keep this dog but he didn't even reside in my house hold, he lived around the corner and down the street in another house hold. After an hour long of my nephew and my son begging and promising me they would take care of the dog such as feeding, cleaning and walking I agreed to keep him.

After accessing the dog and analyzing that he was a bit ruff around the edges we all decided to name him feisty. Feisty may be related to a females name and the dog was a boy but his demeanor was so big, he was not afraid of big dogs or big people at all so he fit the name fiesty.

I had just previously moved into this huge house on a big main street and the owner seemed so fond of dogs that her and her daughter had three living on the property . She rented me out the house and off top charged me $250.00 deposit for a dog I didn't even have yet and $100.00 more to build a private closed in gate around my back yard area to keep a dog safe so when they found feisty it just seemed to be perfect for us. The whole family had falling in love with feisty and weeks after having him in the house we took him to the vet and found out he was a full grown mixed breed of chow and Pekingese, he was seven years old in dog years and he was in a great bill of health.

I always felt like feisty must have been a stray from the neighborhood we lived in because some days when we would walk him around the park he would run off and wouldn’t slow down for us to catch him, he would run into the middle of the street and cross over cautiously to get to the other side and wouldn’t come back into the house until night time like a human being. The family would be so worried but he would always make it back home safely.

After months of living at my residence I found out the owner of the property was living in the garage of the home and still moving around the property like she lived there. It soon came to my attention that when I went to work the owner of the rental house was using the washer and dryer in the unit and going through my personal belongings. It came to a point where I had to confront the owner about her behavior and I wish I would not have because her behavior became erratic and wanted me, my family and my stray dog out immediately.

The owner begin harassing me one minute she would be knocking on my door at 4:00am in the morning asking me could I drop her daughter off at school and the next day she would be saying I had to move because she no longer wanted to rent out the property.

One day after a few months had past I was walking from my car into the yard of my place when I was greeted me a handsome gentle with a nice smile stating he was went the bank and the property was going up to possibly be taken over by the bank. With all the information I had I felt I had had enough and after confronting the owner I went to the courts and filed a petition to try and get some on my money I had invested in her property back but that move on my behalf clearly ticked the owner off and it was hell to pay from then on.

In the midst of a storm brewing my father in law passed away and while my family drove to Mississippi to attend his funeral and bury him we left feisty at home to be attended to by my nephew and little sister who stayed down the street and around the corner coming often to check on him.

My family was gone for five days and I called about every two hours to check on feisty, my sister and nephew assured me every time I would call that feisty was fine and they had actually brought him to their house until the day I returned. I felt so relieved my doggie was with family I exhaled and tried to enjoy time with family in spite of the situation.

The day we arrived back it appeared to be dark and cloudy outside the sky looked gray and it smelled like rain was coming. As we walked in the house I was not surprised to see feisty on the couch because my sister and nephew had just told me they took him back to the house and left him after filling up his water and food bowls but I was startled that he didn’t greet us at the door and jump all around in excitement.

As I approached feisty on the couch I became nervous because he wasn’t moving and jumping all around happy to see us but instead he started chocking up a very hideous and loud cough.

We got in the house and as the family unpacked I took feisty and rushed him to the nearest veterinarian with whom he had seen previous too. As soon as we entered the vet office we were immediately rushed into the back office because they heard the sound of the cough. The Dr. looked at him and looked at me and said “WTF” he has been poisoned!!! Get him to urgent care!!! Now!!!!

My heart was broken I couldn’t believe that someone had hurt my family pet and I had to pay out all this money over a thousand dollars to get him better. I did 80 on the 110 fwy to get feisty to the urgent care and as soon as I pulled into the parking lot parked and looked back to grab feisty he took his last breath, the only breath that he had left was gone from his body seconds before I could try and save him.

I loved feisty like a family member my whole family did I felt like I had just lost a child like someone had just ripped my heart out my chest and burned me alive. That night as devastated as we were my son, nephew and I rapped feisty up in a blanket and took him to the pet cemetery where he was buried and laid to rest.

I took my owner to court and I felt I proved my case and made great examples of why she could have been found guilty of animal cruelty and why she had got rid of my dog but due to me having no real proof and the courts not going by assumptions she was not charged for my dogs murder but did loss the counter suit she filed against me so I felt a little bit of relief but anger that I no longer had my dog named Feisty “The Stray Dog”.

As of today I still have not adopted or tried to find another dog, feisty was family and we called him FIESTY the stray dog.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Myesha Palmer

Start writing..

student of learning believe that what you dish out into the universe you will get back 10 fold. Mother, big sister, ,daughter, good woman, and .friend. Received My AA a few year's back waiting on my B.A dont stop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.