Petlife logo

Fang. The Mojave Ball Python.

By Megan Nagel.

By Megan NagelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My snakes🐍

(Picture) From left to right (row by row). Blizzard is a Boa. Luna is a rat snake x corn snake. Calypso is a Albino Het. Pied Ball python. Sidious is a Peruvian rainbow boa. Fang is a Mojave ball python. Severus is a Okeetee corn snake. Winchester is a Hypo half/ Dwarf Burmese python. Oggy is a Hognose (we call her Oggy the Hoggy) and Grogu is a Aru x Sorong green tree python.

Fang is a Mojave Bally python. Ball pythons are the best types of snakes! Me belongs to me and my partner. Oh god, when I say I love this little snake, I mean if from the heart. And when I say little. He’s not so little anymore, he weighs in around 702g and nearly 4.5ft long! He is one of 9 snakes I own. He was one of the very first snake-friends me snd my boyfriend had given a loving home to. He started out so tiny only weighing in around 100g and about a foot long. I’ve slowly seen him grow and develop and get cheekier as time went on.

I know that Snakes aren’t seen as loveable or cuddly creatures, but boy do they brighten up my day and help me through it. I remember when I was studying my university course from home. Environmental Sciences. Hard stuff. I always liked taking a snake out whilst I tapped away on my laptop and sat on my bed. Probably the wrong move because I’m easily distracted and I lovely scaled babies very much. No other snake distracted me like Fang though. He was curious and clumsy and loved physical contact. I’d also worry about taking him out, simply because I’d struggle to get any work done. But the was the beauty of owning a pet. Even though my attention should’ve been on my assignment, Fang caught my eye and I simply admire him in awe.

His scales are soft and smooth and it always made me laugh about his head size. Me and my boyfriend would say his head was too small for his body when he was just a juvenile. He always had a good chunky body but his tiny head looked odd. I think that’s another reason I loved him, because although he went through the ‘ugly stage’ as some owners call it, he was still artistically beautiful. (My huskies went through this too! Their heads used to look GIGANTIC compared to their bodies.) his beautiful bright yellow sat between black lines and shapes, causing a beautiful contrast on his body.

Fang was as friendly as can be. If you moved to fast near him he’d cower away, simply what ball pythons are knowing for. It’s in the name! They’d ball up. I remember when I was doing my University assignment not too long ago, and I had taken fang out. I was deep in thought typing away, stress building and my anxiety growing. Then Fang popped his little head up from behind my laptop screen. I almost immediately felt at peace and as if a weight had been removed from my shoulders and chest. His bright yellow reflected that of the sun and it made me feel joyous. He not only was such an interesting creature, he made me feel relaxed in times where I was at my highest stress point.

Reptiles are such incredible animals. I own 2 ball pythons, 1 corn snake, 1 rat snake x corn snake, 2 boas, 1 hypo half-dwarf Burmese python, 1 green tree python, 1 hognose, 1 leopard gecko, 1 created gecko and my first ever reptile was Dele, my bearded dragon. I always grew up around the generic pet: cats and dogs and fish and hamsters. And as much as I adored every single one of them, I found pure love in reptiles. Fang really has changed the way I view things. Whenever I feel stressed at home, I pick him or one of the other reptiles up and bond with them. When I’m stressed away from home I think of the moment Fang had popped his head over my laptop screen and I felt happiness, this helps me to find the good things in bad or stressful situations. I really do owe Fang the world.

snake
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.