Petlife logo

Eyes of a Kitty

Short Story

By Life Renee SolacePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
My kitty and me

Yawning, I arch my back, the vertebrae in my spine popping, before I trotted off down the hall.

My owner sat as his desk, staring intensively at a bright screen, his hands clutched together, resting his chin on them. I padded up to him, glancing up at him, waiting for him to pet me.

I sat down, watching him ignore me. My tail twitched, so I meowed at him, but he still stared at his computer. I bowed my head, laying down my his feet, which were covered in socks.

One of his toes moved in the sock, which caught my attention. When it moved again, I swatted it with my paw, claws sheathed, making my owner glance down at me.

"It took you long enough." I meowed, waiting for a pat on the head.

He simply pushed his chair back, rudely walking away from me. I took off after him, seeing him in the kitchen, refilling my cat food bowl with pellets. I rubbed against his legs, meowing loudly at him, which only made him walk away.

Huffing, I followed after him, tail upright as my paws bounced on the tile floor. He turned into the bathroom, so I tried to follow him, but instead he slammed the door in my face. I yowled, jumping back as pain shot up my nose, hearing my human make unintelligible sounds from the other side of the wood door. Laying down by it, I noticed a small space in-between the floor and the door.

Being a curious cat, I stuck my paw under the door, claws outstretched, trying to find my human. I grabbed onto something, causing me to pull it closer. When it wouldn't fit under the door, I retracted my claws, only to find that my claws were caught in the fabric.

"Human. I could use your assistance." I meowed, struggling with my claws.

The door opened forcefully, sending me flying down the hall, my paw freed from the cloth. The human walked from the bathroom, plopping down on the couch.

Running over to him, I hopped onto the couch arm, rubbing my head against his arm. He glared down at me, shaggy hair falling in his blue eyes. I smiled at him, mustering a polite meow, before touching his hand with my paw.

"What do you want?" He asked, staring at me.

"Can you please pet me?" I meowed, my tail flicking back and forth.

"I already fed you, so what so you want?" He growled at me, his eye twitching.

"I just want to be petted." I purr, climbing into his lap, looking up at him.

"Do I need to clean out your litterbox?" He asked, turning on the television.

"No, my poop-box is fine, I need to be loved on." I meow, rubbing my head on his arm.

"Do you need your toys?"

"I need to be petted."

"You want some treats?"

"Pet me, please."

"A bath?"

I jump from his lap, my tail drooping as I go over to my cat bed, curling up in it before going to sleep. I tucked my paws under me before placing my tail over my nose. Closing my eyes, I heard my human get up from the couch, walking by me.

"Goodnight kitty." He said, petting me softly.

I purred, making my human chuckle before heading back into his room.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Life Renee Solace

I am a proud single-mother who recently had to leave my full-time job due to an injury. I now write on the side, picking up the pace at what I love - being my own boss.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.