Petlife logo

Everyone's Favorite Co-Worker

My Dog at Work

By Zane LarkinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Elliot, a canine at work.

It's common knowledge (or should be) that, for many dogs, a job of some sort is essential for their mental wellbeing. Whether that job is something as simple as putting their toys away or as complex as fetching a needed medicine bottle for a sick handler, most dogs enjoy having something to do, and if they can do it with their favorite human? Well, that's just better!

And it's not just fun for the dog to be part of the workplace-- many people are dog lovers, and it is a thrill for anyone to see man's best friend at work or in any place where one wouldn't typically be seen-- whether the dog is actually doing a job or not!

But one thing upon which I think we can all agree is that having a dog at work who actually has a job to do that benefits the other workers is something truly special. And that the dog in question is surely deserving of all the treats.

For me and my co-workers, it is my dog Elliot who fills that role.

He's my dog, but honestly I won't even be the first to say that Elliot is an all-around good boy. How can I be, when everyone else who knows him consistently beats me to it? Even when I believe him to be misbehaving, all of my coworkers (and everyone else who meets him) have nothing but praise for him, and are always telling me that they wish more dogs were like him.

And honestly? I get it.

Elliot getting shown some love and appreciation at work.

Elliot is helpful. He picks things up of the floor and brings them to you when you drop them (or intentionally throw them-- he's a dog, he doesn't know the difference). He's considerate, and won't bowl you over in pursuit of his own gains. He's thorough, and always gets his job done without having to ask for help or missing anything. He's entertaining, and is always wiling to perform for a piece of kibble. And best of all, everyone he works with loves him.

When I come into my office, pretty much the first thing everyone asks me is if I brought Elliot with me that day, and if my answer is in the affirmative, they all rush off to see him and compete to be his favorite person for the day. He gets bribed with plenty of treats and affection, but he never lets all the praise and attention get to his head, and he always remembers that-- while he does provide a much-appreciated service-- even a dog has his dignity (the cats taught him that).

So what, exactly, is Elliot's job?

Well, for me personally, Elliot is more than a co-worker. He is a friend, of course. My perpetually dependent roommate, always. But he is also a much-valued companion who accompanies me practically everywhere (not just the office). He comes to the mall with me, on trips to the store, and cross-country road trips. And he has a job on all of those occasions which he never fails to do.

But at my job, his one very simple task is to clean the floor. And he is superb at it.

I mean yes, he does occasionally double as a 'security dog' and does my closing rounds with me, but most of the time he's just following his sniffer. And that's what makes him so good at his real job.

Elliot isn't the only dog that comes to my job. He's not even the only employee dog that comes in to spend the day at the office. But he is the only one with an official job. And that makes him pretty darn special.

Elliot hanging out with one of his other furry coworkers.

dog
1

About the Creator

Zane Larkin

I'm not a journalist, but I do publish like one.

Promising dogs, cats, politics and good old-fashioned common sense. Let's keep things civil.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.