Petlife logo

Even If I Want To, I Don't Think I Should

Or maybe I should.

By Joydwip MohajonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Even If I Want To, I Don't Think I Should
Photo by Dorothea OLDANI on Unsplash

Yes, I love those cute little devils. Cats, in particular, I love and I would love to adopt one of those.

But, should I though?

I like pets, I had pets. I like how disastrous cats can be, and yet so lovely. Pets aren't the problem. Perhaps they are the solutions for a lot of people in these times, the time when we are in the midst of a pandemic.

I’ve been wanting to take a cat for a long time now even though I don't have much experience with cats. I mean whenever I see a stray I try to get close and pet it, but somehow they just run away. I spend tons of hours watching cat videos on socials, only if they knew. Yet they run away. I've tried feeding some of them and failed at that too sometimes. Honestly, I've probably never tried hard enough to pet one. Why?

Because these times aren't right, then again time is never right. Times - now or before - they were never in favor of a certain portion of living creatures, be it your pets or your next-door neighbor.

Maybe your next pet could be a stray or maybe mine. But before you adopt, take a look at your own race. How do they fare in these hard times? How are the hoomans doing? Is there a stray hooman in your neighborhood?

By Atul Pandey on Unsplash

I bet there is. I bet there is.

Okay, even if I were to lose this bet, I wouldn't be wrong in the greater scale of things. According to these statistics, about 580,466 people in the United States were homeless in 2020. This figure surely is a lot bigger if we are talking about the whole world and this is just one aspect of the whole problem for the hoomans. Then there are hunger among the kids, child labor, lack of clean water, and a whole lot of other issues that prevent people from being the lovely hooman that our beloved pets need. So, what gives me the right to be a hooman?

I guess, nothing. Hence why I think I should not be a hooman, I shouldn't adopt a cat. Then again,

If you are not taking a pet, you are probably failing their races too. Just like we are failing ourselves. I mean how many organizations are there to help? How many philanthropists are there to raise money?

A lot and yet, we are where we are. So, maybe this is a problem that isn't solvable, only sustainable. I mean where I currently am, people are living on the streets like it's normal to have people living on the streets. But the thing is it's not normal, not on a normal sunny day, not on cold nights. It will be normal for me to adopt pets when these people are adopted into society.

Sadly though this normal isn't probably for me, this normal won't be here anytime soon. So, I guess I will adopt a cat while there are people still living on the streets, just not now. Maybe when I am in a place where the stray hoomans aren't as many as the stray cats.

In a world where the humans run the show, some cats are more privileged than the people which shouldn't be the case in my opinion. It's just crazy to think that some people still have to live like this. Trust me, I have nothing against you taking a pet. As I said I love pets, and I will surely take one in someday. If you want to adopt a stray, please. Either way, you are still making someone's life better and I am sure they will give it back to you in their ways.

Whether you are adopting a cat or helping a homeless person, you are still saving a life. You are making a difference, you are making one less stray.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Joydwip Mohajon

Love Technology • Sucker for Football • Soccer is the only Football • @JoydwipMohajon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.