Petlife logo

Ember

The Greatest Day of My Life

By katrina barakatPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

On May 27th, 2017 my entire world changed. After a long day of work at Quicken Loans, I literally had to drag myself out of the car to go inside the house. Now, at this time my husband and I were crashing at a friend's house for a couple months while we were trying to get back on our feet. So, as I walk up to the door trying to put the key into the doorknob, I feel a little tug at my feet. It's dark out and not the greatest neighborhood, so my paranoid self jumped. I looked down and saw the saddest puppy dog eyes pawing at my feet. I was so confused. I looked around and saw the neighbors across the street starting to walk over to me. Now mind you, I have seen this dog. She belonged to a family down the street. She was always being pulled down the street by the kids. I felt awful whenever I would see her, but I didn't want to start any problems. The neighbors came over and said her family left her tied to the porch in 90 degree weather that day and I guess she got loose and almost got hit by a car. So the neighbors asked them to put her inside the house and they refused and said to let anyone take her. They lost interest in her. They couldn't take her so they were just sitting with her outside when she decided to run up to me that night.

My heart was broken. We couldn't afford a dog, let alone have room for her in our one bedroom we were staying in at the moment. She was filthy. We decided to ask around and send out messages to see if anyone wanted to adopt her. My husband and I gave her a bath. The water was black. Who could do this to not even a year old puppy? It made me so angry just thinking about it! After giving her a bath, we were holding her. It started. We were falling in love with her. After a couple minutes, our friend said she found someone for her. My husband and I looked at each other and knew. We wanted her. I said, "no, I will keep her. I will figure out how to make it work somehow." I worked long days/nights and my husband's schedule was just all over the place. I was able to get my family to keep her during the day and I even was able to take her to work with me sometimes. A couple months later, we moved to our own place which was such a relief! Ember now had her own room to herself! Ember has some separation anxiety, which really is expected after the way she was treated, so we always hate leaving her when we go to work. Ember has gotten us through so many things. She really brought us closer together and gave us the feeling of loving an animal so unconditionally.

Ember to me is considered a rescue. She is almost two years old now and is healthy and thriving! She loves playing with our two cats and cuddling with the humans. Ember can always bring out the best in someone and never leaves you with a frown. She's my person.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.