Petlife logo

Easy Random Dog Hacks

Just to make the relationship between you and your best friend just a little bit better.

By Melissa OrlandoPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

Hi, my name is Missy and I have been working with domestic and wildlife animals for over two decades on many different levels. I am a certified pet food nutrionalist, I store managed a well known pet chain for over eight years and I am currently attending an Academy for dog training and behavior.  When I worked at the pet chain and I became store manager my store out of over three hundred and thirty stores was number one for the most increase sales growth in a year. The thing is I didn't even try and I was the first one to give discounts and tell a customer not to waste their money on more than twenty five percent of the goods sold. I love helping people with their pets.  Today we will solely work on a few random dog hacks to lead to a better quality of life for both you and your furbaby.

I figure instead of reading a bunch of boring stuff about me ill just dive right in. I am saying right now that I am not a doctor and I am not saying to do any of the following rather than this is your choice. Yes I am covering myself like a rated R movie. 

IF IT GOES DOWN SMOOTH IT CAN COME UP SMOOTH.

My dogs as well with many others are like children who act like they have never eaten before and if it's edible and no one is around thats fair game. One night I ran to the store real fast and came home and I found my family size of dark chocolate m&m package empty on the floor. Imagine my horror and total shock because it was a brand new bag and I have not one, not two but five dogs. I dropped everything in my hand ran upstairs to grab the peroxide.  Took all the dogs outside and I started pouring about two to three tablespoons of peroxide down their throat.  Well about ten minutes later it was like a scene from a comedy and horror film in one. One by one my dogs were throwing up everywhere, white foam and drool.  They all were either sitting or standing looking at me like if they could rip me apart they would but thankfully they love me.  Eventually I found the culprits. Three of them had started throwing up a rainbow of digesting spots of m&m's of color with brown. I'm pretty sure on a few you could still see the m&m logo. This being said if your dog swallows something that goes down smooth and has no chance of cutting them on the way down or up just give them 2 or 3 tablespoons for big dogs. I'm sure you kind find the formula of how much to give for any size on the internet.

I will tell you some hacks with stories and others that do not need explanation from here on out. I suppose less the stories the better.

EASIEST GIVE A DOG A BATH HACK EVER

Do you have a small dog that is like a Tasmanian devil or the other end of the spectrum with the tail between the legs and they are shaking as if they are going into a panic attack, or you could have bucking broncos like mine who try to jump out any chance they get? Peanut butter ... yes you heard correctly.  Get some low fat peanut butter and a spatula from your kitchen drawer and walk right into the bathroom and take a nice scoop out of the jar and spread it in about a 2x2 foot area on your shower wall. Spread it as thin as you can and please please make sure the area is clean from scum and harsh chemicals first.  Like magic your dog is a freaking angel at bath time trying to lick all that peanut butter off and here is the best part. The stuff lasts forever, I guess combined with the humidity it is super hard to lick off for the dogs so it lasts almost the entire bath time.

WHEN SAYING NO DOES NOT WORK TRY THIS

My dogs are like kids. Sometimes they just don't want to listen and they go into temper tantrums or the house is a race track or you do not even exist when they are playing tug of war with the twenty dollar toy you just bought tearing it to shreds.  Count... yes just count like you would to a human toddler. Say in a loud but firm voice count and say the numbers in a long tone 1...2...2½ (raise your voice at the end just a little) then look them in the eye and say don't let me get to three. In the beginning they might look at you like what the hell are you saying. As soon as they stop say good dog and give them a treat. If they do not listen at first then make them go to a time out. Somewhere comfortable and make them lay down for five minutes and stand in front of them if you have too.  Take control of the situation. Now my dogs respond to the 1,2 & 2½ but somehow when I say enough they stop too.  I must say that right before I count because I have not needed to do the count down for awhile.

YES TOMATO JUICE DOES WORK IF YOU DO IT THE RIGHT WAY

 Yes it is that time of season where your dogs could just run into every skunk possible in the neighborhood. Every year at least 2 or 3 of my dogs get nailed by the pesky skunk as if they are hunting the dogs aiming and waiting to see how many of my dogs they can get in one spray. Thankfully the most I have had at 1 time was 3. Most of the time it ends up happening at dark and up until early morning hours since skunks are nocturmal.   Yes the soap and peroxide solution does work but if your anything like me you don't want to have to sit there and make the solution up you just want to start to get that god awful skunk smell out of your airways. I always have a stack of the quart size metal cans of 100% tomato juice NOT SOUP and it can even be store brand. The key is when you rub the juice all over into the skin of the dog you cannot sit there and expect the juice to take out the smell after 5 minutes and rinse the dog off. You have to let the juice dry completely because as it dries the acidic properties of the juice pulls out the skunk smell. After it dries then you can rinse and yes it can be monotonous and annoying but every time my dogs come out smelling just fine. After that all I do is take some dry shampoo spray it all over and dry them and off to bed we go... Well after you brush them.

OUCH YOUR DOG JUST FOUND THAT BEE OR INSECT THAT MADE THEM BLOW UP LIKE THE MARSHMALLOW MAN

 I don't know about you but whatever my dogs get stung and they shake their head or they run around and act like they just had a needle stuck in them it makes me tear up almost every time and I feel so bad for them. First thing first is always have Benadryl handy. Benadryl works as antihistamine and can help reduce the allergic reaction to whatever your pup got into.  Be sure to check your dogs airways and your furbaby is breathing ok. If any doubts definitely rush them to an EMERGENCY vet. Here is a bonus, when it is 4th of July, Benadryl is an excellent over the counter remedy for keeping your dog calm but you have to give them the medications up to an hour before the event occurs. The dosage is easy it's one mg per pound.

FIREWORKS, THUNDERSTORMS AND BEYOND

This hack should be performed immediately from puppy hood.  There is nothing worse than a dog who is terrified of thunderstorms, fireworks or any other loud noises. Another thing that truly breaks my heart is when I see a dog in total fear.  The unfortunate part is there have been dogs who have literally passed away from heart attacks over this.  My dogs do not even notice any of it unless they see it over our house because some idiot could care less where they light fireworks off from.  The key is to do nothing... ok so not nothing as in nothing but do not ever acknowledge it. When they get scared of anything DO NOT baby them and comfort them. That is the worst thing you can possibly do.  When I worked at the pet store I saw so much money being wasted on all these gimmicks. It drove me nuts. Remember when I said I didn't even try to make sales? I was the one who was just honest and telling customers put that back unless you want it because you do not need it. Let me say I did ask questions and yes, sometimes they may be needed and might work.  When your dog shows fear reverse it.  Quickly distract your dog and DO NOT even acknowledge the noise what so ever act like you don't even know your dog is scared. Grab your dogs favorite toy or treat and dance if you have too.  Do something to snap your dog out of the fear trance before its to late or the next thing you know is your going to get prozac for your dog from the vet.  Consistently do this and do not say aaawww its ok baby and whatever you do never, never, never yell at your dog for having fear. There have been so many people who do not even realize they are reprimanding their poor dog by saying stop it or keep quiet.  Why don't you keep quiet when some person is holding a gun to your head damn it.  That doesn't sound so nice does it?  Again ignore and happiness and even if it doesn't work keep doing it every time it thunders. Some of my dogs hear thunder or fireworks they actually get excited and run in the kitchen and sit next to the treat drawer.  Now those are some dogs who can't wait until some scary noise arises.  Yes even my rescues who were older and scared when I first had them do it too.  You can teach old dogs new tricks.

There are so many more tips and tricks I can share.  My life has been devoted to not only helping pets but to helping the relationship of pets and owners grow the strongest bond with respect of eachother on both sides.  The biggest misconception is that a dog was born to listen to your every command.  No it is not, there is so much more and the benefits of understanding definitely makes both of your lives alot more enjoyable and unique.  

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.