Petlife logo

Duck? Duck!

My first night home alone in a new place, and a duck appears and causes a whirlwind of chaos!

By Emily KittyPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Duck? Duck!
Photo by Ross Sokolovski on Unsplash

This is a hilarious story to revisit, and one that I still can't believe happened!! I promise you, this actually happened to me! I hope you get a laugh out of this little wild story, because I sure do!

~~~

It was my first night home alone - not only in a new place, but also a new state. I’d been living there for nearly a week now, and I was settling in nicely. My best friend (and housemate) was on their way home via the dreaded public transport, sending me live updates of their trip and reminding me why we all hate public transport so much. I had just finished setting up my nice and new ceramic pot and had sat down to admire it, when there’s this flap of wings out the corner of my eyes, and I see a duck.

A freaking duck.

Now, for visuals sake, there were two sections of the fence. There was the part of the fence that was attached to the poles of the veranda, and this part was undercover and had covers over the gaps from fence to roof in an attempt to block out weather. Then there was the other fence section, that was not covered in the slightest and completely open, and home to many paper wasp nests.

The duck had jumped over the fence in a tiny gap in the undercover portion, which still baffles me to this day, because how the hell did that duck fit through that? How did it pull such a magical feat? It's not like it was a little duck, it was a medium sized green duck! I just...how?

Duck is now in my backyard, and I’m very concerned because one of the cats, Moon, is a proud huntress. My other housemates' dog, Belle, seems to agree with me, because we both immediately start following the duck with concern as the duck HEADS INSIDE.

Moon finally sees duck, and all hell breaks loose. Moon is chasing the duck, Belle is chasing Moon, and I’m chasing all of them, trying to stop this cat from eating this random duck! Belle is just such a sweet soul, that all she wants to do is also try to protect the duck from the cat...but she's also a rather large doggo, so she was knocking things over as she went. So picture a large, drooling, and incredibly lovable mastiff barrelling around trying to keep this duck safe from a cat! It was definitely a sight to have gotten to see, that's for sure!

The duck then runs into the living room, and now I’m trying to herd this damn duck out of the house whilst keeping the other animals away. This now terrified duck is frantically running around the house in search of an exit that, lets face it... must surely have escaped from some nearby duck home to finally have his first adventure, only to be confronted by this chaos!

That's the theory I'm sticking with, anyway.

Duck finally starts heading back outside, hurdling straight for the same place it entered. This time however, there is a cat hot on its tail, determined to hunt this duck, a dog trying to get in between the cat and the duck, and a very confused human. So of course, now its flapping its wings and trying to get away, inevitably jumping onto and over the outdoor table in an attempt to avoid Moon, and using that table as a way to successfully make it to the fence. There is the sound of something smashing, but I'm too busy to look.

Duck disappears over the fence. I heave a sigh of relief that no one got hurt, but overall just so incredibly shocked by what just happened.

It's like a little tornado had just cruised on through, causing mayhem and destruction, and then leaving so quickly you should have gotten whiplash.

I remembered that something broke, and I turn around to see my new ceramic pot on the ground in pieces, and at that point I kind of just sat down defeatedly on the ground right then and there.

I was in shock. I was baffled. I was so damn confused.

What the fuck just happened?

wild animals
Like

About the Creator

Emily Kitty

I'm a writer of fantasy, with a penchant for dark fantasy, and a love of exploring morally grey themes.

I also enjoy writing free-form expressionist poetry as a way to express any mental health struggles I may be experiencing at the time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.