Petlife logo

Don't Cry Wolf

Many Things Howl

By Karalynn RowleyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
By Jusdevoyage Lyly on Pexels.com

I got one of the most secluded campsites available. I was just kind of... done with people. I wanted to look at the stars and listen to the trees. I could have just slept in my Jeep, but I figured sleeping on rocks was part of the experience. I put down the tarp a distance away from the established firepit and started putting poles together.

There was howling in the distance and I looked up from shoving some sticks through nylon. "Are there wolf packs in this state?" I had a friend who would know. She knew everything about animals.

"Wolves are making a comeback. We hunted them to near extinction or to extinction on all continents, but with the help of breeding programs they're now climbing their way back to safety," Kimmy said.

"So why did we hunt them?" I remember having my mouth full of a burger at the time.

"A lot of reasons, fears of the dark, mistaken identity, and sometimes just because." she stole a fry, "Wolves are candid's and would be mistaken for other canines harassing farm animals. All of our writing tells us to fear wolves even though there actually are very few wolf attacks on humans- they fear us, for good reason."

"Is it that easy to mistake other doggy-things for wolves?" I asked, sipping a drink.

"Well if you don't know what you're looking for. Full-furred ears, indistinct masks, huge paws. If you run into a wolf, you'll know it because they're huge, but people run into wild dogs, coyotes, coy-dogs, coy-wolf-dogs-"

"Those exist?"

"Yeah, they're actually becoming more of a thing, taking the strong parts of all of the candid's and putting them in one. Also the bad."

The fire was cracking and I pulled out the hot dogs and the marshmallows. I stabbed a few of the dogs and floated them over the fire. The smell of fire kissed mystery meat spread throughout the area. I started spreading various condiments on some buns. When I looked up, one of my hot dogs was gone and in the mouth of a less hot dog.

I jumped. In all our conversations, Kimmie never told me what to do when meeting a mystery canine in the woods.

"Um, hey, doggy?" I cooed. Fully furred ears, I think. But he wasn't as big as what Kimmie had said. He finished his meal and looked up, tail curling and wagging a little. "Husky!"

He barked and bounced.

"Do you want another one? How about one you don't have to get from a fire?" I pulled one from the package and offered it. He inched close and took it. "Are you lost? How long have you been out here?"

His coat didn't look great, like it needed a brush and a blow out. Kimmie had told me that spits breeds were crazy smart. Maybe he thought I'd help him get home.

"I'm here for the night... but if you want, I can get you to a vet to scan you for a microchip tomorrow," I suggested. I held out my hand to him. He licked his lips and huffed. He came to me and I scratched his neck. "You're probably thirsty after two hot dogs, huh?"

I got a bowl and poured some water. He dove for it, drinking it and burping from the swallowed air. I ate my remaining food before getter the bedding ready. I'd brought up an extra blanket so I laid that out for Husky.

He drank half of my water supply, I was worried he'd flip his stomach. He stayed close, howling and barking as I made smores and sketched him in my black sketch book. I could see how people would mistake a dog for a wolf. They're all in the same family, and all like to howl and run.

We watched the stars and I pulled debris out of his coat the best I could. He thanked my with slobber and content sighs. "I've always wanted a dog. But I know someone's looking for you. Kimmie says huskies have 'people' someone they want to hold onto for their whole lives. If you're that devoted to them, they should be that devoted to you, right?" I turned on my side in my sleeping bag to look at him. He yawned and rolled on his back, showing his dirty tummy and wagging his tail.

"You're right, we should get some sleep. We have to get you back home tomorrow," I rubbed his belly lightly, releasing a cloud of dust.

He'd sat in the Jeep the entire time I packed up like some angsty teen refusing to take any more part of this trip. Once my phone had reception again, I asked it to take me to the nearest veterinarian, and call them as well.

"Thank you for calling West Mountain Animal Clinic, how can I help you?"

"Hi, yeah, um, I'm coming down from the campsites and I found a husky there... I need to get him checked out and see if we can find his owners," I glanced over at him, his nose just slightly out the window.

"Oh, okay! We have some time so just bring him in. Does he have a collar or a leash?"

"No, he's naked." I answered.

"Okay, then just call us back when you get here and we'll come out with a leash."

"That'd be great. See you soon."

Husky was calm and patient as we took him inside. He was a little less patient as they took out the ticks that were on his feet and head.

"It looks like his name's Wolf. He's been missing for almost a month," said the vet, after calling his owners. "They're coming to get him now, apparently they had a $20,000 reward out for him. He's quite the stud."

"So, maybe you're responsible for all of the wolf-dog-coyotes," I joked. He grumbled from having an IV put in him.

"He is an intact male show dog, so who knows what he might have been doing while he was out there. There are a lot of animals in shelters, so it's best to spay and neuter any animal that you don't intend to breed and think strongly about your options before getting into any breeding business."

"Well, I guess with this reward I can afford to adopt someone from a shelter... Maybe I'll ask my friend to help me to find a good one."

"There's always donations too," the vet smiled as the door opened. Two well dressed men came in and Wolf perked up instantly.

"There you are, baby!" one cooed.

"Look at your coat, oh we're going to spoil you silly," said the other.

Wolf whined and his tail wagged so fast it turned into a blur. He was back with his people.

dog
1

About the Creator

Karalynn Rowley

Lifelong writer, animal lover, just married forever in love. Someday we'll all be plastic star cornflakes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.