Petlife logo

Dogs Are a {Human's} Best Friend

Let's Just Admit It

By Caitlin EPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

We have a lot to thank our dogs for.

As much as they thank us with the constant wet kisses and hugs that almost knock us over, we rarely take the time to thank them for being the unbelievably cute and lovable creatures they really are.

Although at times we want to scold them for jumping on the couch or for bringing dirt into the house, we can't help but smile at their guilty puppy dog eyes. We have to thank them for bringing joy into our lives, even if they slip up a time or two. Dogs aren't perfect—but neither are we.

But dogs don't care about perfection; they are perfectly imperfect. From their intimidating barks to making a mess with their food, they are blessings in disguise.

Growing up with dogs has made me appreciate their unconditional love more than they'll ever know. When I was younger, my beagle would sleep besides my bed. I grew up with her; I always had a friend and someone to lean on. I had her by my side for fourteen years and it felt like I lost a part of me when she passed away.

However, dogs never give up on us. And we should never give up on them.

They easily become part of the family. They get their own stocking at Christmas time, their own comfy bed, and they even get a food dropping or two at dinner time. My two dogs are my two sisters and I wouldn’t want it any other way. Whenever I leave the room only to come back two seconds later, one of my dogs acts like they haven’t seen me in years. And then when I come back from college for breaks, I can’t keep my dogs away from me even if I tried, but that’s the best part. I can’t appreciate their enthusiasm and craziness more than I already do.

Everyone goes through some rough patches in their lives, but for some, including myself, they don’t think they’ll ever catch a break. Although I had my family to help me through it, I can never thank my dog enough for being there. She knew exactly when I was having a bad day or when my mood was off and she would never leave my side. Wherever I went in the house, she was there by my leg. She wanted me to know she cared. I could talk to my dog without her judging me. Sounds cliché, but it was something I needed.

Some people consider their dogs to simply be their pets, but there are many who consider them their best friends. Although it may seem annoying to have to bring them outside to go to the bathroom or bring them to the groomers, it should be done without any complaints; our dogs don’t complain when we have to leave them in the crate or bring them for a ride.

You can tell how much they love the time spent with their owners. We have to thank them for making us laugh without even trying and for bringing out the best in us. We have to thank them for being a source of heat when they snuggle up with us on cold days. We have to thank them for sitting with us while watching television. We have to thank them for keeping us active by always wanting to play fetch or go on walks.

But most importantly, we have to thank them for always being there for us. We have to thank them for simply being them.

Dogs will always be a human’s best friend.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Caitlin E

Trying to share my words of wisdom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.