Petlife logo

Dog sharing during lockdown

Your dog is more than a pet

By Emelie SahlenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Miura

This year has indeed been tough for most of us. Some have been more affected than others, but being thrown off the train you are on is a challange for everyone. But I am also sure a lot of good has come out of this, maybe someone has found their call in life, maybe someone was fired and therefore has no choice but to start that business that they dreamt of. Maybe someone went back to school and got a degree. My year started in Italy, in my husband's family home where we had lived for 3 years. The first lockdown started in March there and we were forced to stay in the house. This was not all too bad due to the big garden and the sunshine. But in mid-may we moved back to London, where we now live. And since we moved, I have been on my own with my toddler and my dog as my husband has been overseas working. Due to the pandemic, he hasn’t been able to return home as often as we wanted so it’s been a rough year to say the least. In order to handle a full-time job, a toddler and a dog in a London flat without a garden I had to start looking for a dog sitter that could help me from time to time. I got in contact with a guy, let’s call him Pete, on a pet sitters’ website and he seemed lovely so we decided to meet up so he could meet our dog. They fell instantly in love and a few days later he took her home to his wife.

Pete could not work at the time as he was furloughed so this was a perfect fit where he and his wife could spend 100% of their time with our dog.

For me, this was such a relief not to have to stress about getting both the toddler and the dog out first thing in the morning and last thing before bed. Anyone with children knows that getting your toddler to do what you say is not always stress-free, and I only have one! A hug to every stressed out mum out there!

Pete and His wife sent me pictures and updates and our little dog looked so happy.

After 10 days she came back home and let me tell you, she was a changed dog. Before she left I had some issues with re-call, and she had run off a few times. But after 10 days with Pete, she was a new dog (to the better). I cannot thank him enough for all of this and I asked him how he wanted to get paid, and here’s comes the best part, he said and I quote “ I would not dare take a penny from you. Your dog has helped me and my wife so much during this time. If you ever need more help with her please do not hesitate to ask”.

And from that day our little dog is spending time with them on a regular basis, helping them get through the lockdown and this is giving me a break in my busy life as a full-time working mum.

So thank you Pete, you are a godsend and I cannot thank you enough!

So for everyone out there, what you do, matters! If you just hold the door for someone behind you or let the mum with the screaming child go before you in line will make the world a better place. It is so simple to help out, only if it's little. Every little helps! I try to be the best person I can be, it is not easy when life gives you lemons but as long as we all try!

The world is full of goodness, let’s channel this, and together we can get through this tough time!

Em.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.