Petlife logo

Dog Behaviors Help Achieve Your New Year’s Resolution

Dagney teaches how to be happy

By Brenda MahlerPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like
Meet Dagney. Images from author’s photos.

Dogs have it figured out. While humans strive to change themselves, their environment and others to create a happy life, us dogs simply live one day at a time. Since I can’t communicate in human language, it’s taken a while to teach Mom how she can find happiness. I’ve watched her try to lose weight, exercise more, persuade others to change, begin to recycle, and a hundred other behaviors that she thought would make her life better. Finally, Mom is figuring it out and beginning to imitate my behavior. She is learning she can live a satisfying life with little effort simply by adopting the behaviors of a dog.

Ten behaviors to find happiness

Some people think dogs are simple minded but in reality we are deep thinkers. All those times you’ve seen us lazily laying around, in reality dogs are philosophizing how to optimize our happiness levels. Or parents have instilled in us the value of living life to the fullest and that doesn’t include working harder, making more money or betraying ourselves for the benefit of others.

My dog mom during the few short weeks I was with her taught me everything I needed to know simply by being true to herself. I watched and learned. My experiences as a youth living with my litter and the short 6 years living with Mom, have allowed me to identify the secrets for happiness. Below I outline them for you.

Be patient

People lack patience. We live in a world craving immediate satisfaction. Patience has taught me to appreciate life.

Build personal strength

Animals possess natural instincts to protect themselves. Nobody needs to remind a dog to drink plenty of water or take a nap. Dogs lay quietly in nature absorbing the sun while watching the leaves fall, the snowflakes pile up and the raindrops feed the earth. They naturally understand remaining healthy requires rest and attention to personal needs.

Sniff out the situation

I am curious but cautious. We travel a lot in our motorhome, so I cherish being allowed off the leash to frolic. Though I am eager to explore, I remain wary enough to investigate dark holes, crevices, and unidentified movement with restraint.

Learn to relax

There is a difference between the way dogs relax compared to humans. People feel the need to announce when they are going to relax which eliminates the activity from being truly relaxing. It becomes another item on the list to check off.

Find the humor

“Dogs are the leaders of the planet. If you see two life forms, one of them’s making a poop, the other one’s carrying it for him, who would you assume is in charge?” — Jerry Seinfeld

Speak up

When life hits a bump or steers you into a brick wall, recognize that everyone needs and deserves support to make it through difficult times. Speak, ask for help, and accept assistance from others.

Love

Anyone who lives with a dog, understands our regenerative power. When Mom comes home after a ruff day, my loves melt her stress. From the moment we meet at the door, through the evening when I smother her with licks, follow her around the house, lay on the floor beside her feet as she cooks dinner, and cuddle on the couch, I watch her stress dissolve. I know what is important: love, affection, companionship.

Break rules to control your destiny

Rules and regulations restrict humans’ behaviors. Every setting imposes different rules based upon their roles. Employee, spouse, parent, friend, or leader, each carries a set of socially appropriate expectations. Eventually a time comes that we choose to break a rule — sometimes a small one like talking to a stranger in the elevator, or something more life changing like quitting a job to explore other options.

Play and enjoy

Play is a natural and necessary part of life. Children and pets understand this reality, but adults sometimes lose focus of the importance of finding time to play.

After observing me and realizing how chill I am, she wrote a book, Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style. It celebrates dogs, tells stories, prompts reflections, and shares a lot of pictures. There are 29 chapters and one is titled “Believe You Can Fly.” I taught her the importance of finding your wild side and running with the wind.

This is Mom’s writing

The moment my husband and I pack for a trip, Dagney becomes a permanent appendage. Her awareness of details astonishes me. If we are packing food in the ice chest for a cabin trip or loading supplies into the motorhome, she shows her excitement for adventure through her sudden interest in our every move. Otherwise, she is usually a bed ornament curled in the pillows asleep or watching out the window for an intruder in her yard.

I once thought her enthusiasm for travel would evaporate after days of being restricted indoors. At our home, Dagney uses a doggy door that provides access outside where she chases birds, roams the gardens, or lays in the rocks absorbing the sun. Her ability to wander is limited when we travel.

Though she is a sweet canine, she displays evidence of her wild instincts whenever another dog appears requiring her to be on a leash if we venture outside our fenced yard. I feared she would rebel from the constant restraint of a leash, but if she can accompany us on our adventures, she is content.

Once we stopped at a golf course. Though Dagney is not allowed to run on the plush greens, some rule about dogs on a golf course, she loves to ride along in the cart when permitted by the management. I think of her as my good luck charm because golf can be a stressful sport, but every time I look at her satisfied smile, I relax.

Another time we pulled into an RV resort in Newport, Oregon. With scenic vistas of the ocean within a short distance and numerous walking paths, perfect for dogs and their companions. Until we climbed down the stairs leading to the sand, we were unaware that below our temporary residence was a private beach. By private I mean accessible only to occupants of the RV resort. On this day, it was uninhabited. At least we saw no other dogs.

After a stroll at the edge of the surf, we climbed some rocks protruding from the water and explored life forms stuck on the sides and in every crevice. Dagney remained oblivious that the still life existed but enjoyed jumping from rock to rock, wading in the shallow pools, and periodically chasing seagulls until the rope became taunt. From the top of the rock mound, my husband and I observed a vacant beach and realized this provided an opportunity, the first in many days, for Dagney to run unencumbered.

When I bent down to unhook the latch on her collar, Dagney remained sitting as trained but excitement at the possibilities sent a tremor through her body; she understood what was about to happen. The moment I said free dog, she sprung into motion like a racehorse leaving the gate at the Kentucky Derby. She was free.

I imagine her first thought encouraged her that those seagulls would now be attainable. She sniffed logs and peed on each seaweed pile she paused besides, running from one to the other claiming the beach as her domain. My camera captured every moment as we laughed at her lighthearted exuberance. Every so often, I called her back, so she wouldn’t stray beyond the reach of my voice and to remind her that boundaries existed.

On her return the lens captured an image I have titled, She Believes She Can Fly. When flipping through the images that evening, this one revealed pure love of freedom. If I tried a thousand times to replicate it with the simple photo technology of my smartphone, the endeavor would be unsuccessful. It shares Dagney’s love of nature, liberty, the beach, and me, for she was running toward me.

Humans believe dogs are domesticated, and they are to a point. However, there exists within their spirit a desire to run, roam and reunite with their roots. As I walked in the sand a peacefulness consumed me. By looking at Dagney’s face I understood how freedom feels.

Humans, like dogs, live with constant restrictions. Though as an adult we no longer have a curfew, we still do not have the freedom to stay out all night every night partying — most of us don’t. With accumulating responsibilities, I feel caged and held captive to a way of living that doesn’t always bring happiness.

A few years ago, after a not good very bad day, I came home and shared with my husband that I needed a change. Unbeknownst to me he also felt trapped and overwhelmed by constant expectations, both self-imposed and generated by society. Together, we decided to make changes that would free us from the chains of encumberment. There were no quick decisions or easy solutions but within a year we made many life adjustments.

● I changed jobs.

● Downsized our large home on acreage.

● Sold unneeded items to simplify our surroundings.

● Decreased expenses by eliminating a car payment and canceling several subscriptions.

● Exited several committees and learned to say no.

● Purchased two Harley Davidson motorcycles.

● Four years later, we enjoyed our new life so much we forfeited a financial bonus and retired.

What cages you and restricts your freedom to be happy?

● Debt?

● Incompatible people?

● Greed?

● Meaningless entertainment?

● Unrealistic comfort?

● Fear of loss?

● Social expectations?

● A mindset that there is more out there?

Each behavior is explained in details and illustrated with pictures and stories in Mom’s book. As Mom’s spokeswoman and publicist, I am pleased to brag that all my secrets have been revealed for you in her new book.

Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style is now available on Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/Live-Satisfying-Doing-Doggy-Style/dp/B0BMYW97BG/ref=sr_1_2?crid=1OVQMB039FID6&keywords=brenda+mahler+books&qid=1672076988&sprefix=brenda+mahler+bo%2Caps%2C882&sr=8-2

Enjoy the read!

Mom’s book will make you fall in love with me, laugh, and leave you wanting more. The best parts are the numerous pictures of my many friends and an overwhelming abundance of images of my beautiful mug. Mom has even incorporated some opportunities for readers to journal and reflect on their own lives. This is for the ambitious humans who really want to keep resolutions that will change their lives.

Hope you enjoy the stories as much as I do!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.