Petlife logo

Dippn Dotz

Our little rescue

By Tanya SpencerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I never planned to become a dog mom. I went from having zero pets to now having 3 dogs and 3 cats on top of having 7 kids! Yes life is pretty busy, even though 5 of my kids are now grown and moved out.

It all began 10 years ago when my kids begged me to get a puppy. We ended up getting Ralphy, who’s our now 10 year old bulldog. He spent years being our only dog until New Years Eve when we got our first rescue, Luna. A gorgeous rottweiler. Ralphy refused to play with her and quickly earned the nickname, our grumpy old man. Luna has so much energy and seemed to need a play mate. I went back and forth for a couple months if we should get another dog or keep it with only two dogs. Finally I decided I was going to look for a playmate for Luna so she’d stop trying to play with Ralphy because he was not in any way having it. Over the summer I began my search. Each dog I came across, I didn’t feel a connection to. I’d log off the internet with disappointment. I gave up looking and then one day, boom! A post on a Facebook group that I’m in, a lady looking to re-home a dog she was temporarily fostering. There was no picture but somehow the post caught my eye. I messaged the lady and she sent me pics and Dots story and all she was medically going through. It was that moment I knew this was the one! Dot came from a rough background and didn’t have a great start at life. She had a deep gash in her neck from an embedded collar, and she had other injuries that weren’t explained. She is tiny due to being malnourished. With all I was told, I knew she was for me. I went to Dots foster home to meet and spend time with her. After a few visits, we introduced Luna to Dot and they became besties right away. Once Dots neck injury was healed up enough, she was finally able to come to her new forever home. She has given me so much love in such a short amount of time and I return the love. I’ve never been one to snuggle with a dog and here I am cuddling this little bundle of fur. I call her my little dippn Dotz. Her bug eyes and popped up ears bring a smile to my face every time she comes running towards me with her little paws and tail wagging at high speed, ready to play. She has a beautiful dark gray coat with a white chest that has little black specks that remind me of a Oreo McFlurry. Something about her has melted my heart and I am glad to be her forever human. Her and Luna have an inseparable bond and play for hours. Watching them play and chase each other up and down the stairs until their bodies can’t play anymore and they fall asleep on my bedroom floor is one of the funniest things, for me, to watch. The original plan was to get Dot for Luna but I think I really got her for myself. She’s the best addition to our home. You would never know Dot came from a horrible background and even though she got off to a rough start, she is the happiest dog ever. Dot is small but fierce. She reminds me of myself and came into my life when I needed her more than she needed me.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Tanya Spencer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.