Petlife logo

Dazza the Dachshund

Not a photo…perhaps a kinder way to dress a pet

By Amy MarleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dazza on his way to the beach for a brew - Procreate play – by me | Reference photos (purchased)

Dazza the Dachshund

Not the kinda snagga you’d

Throw on the barbie

----------------------------------------------

Deciphering the Senryu

If you couldn't tell by the words above, I'm Australian.

We have a habit of brutualising the English language. Slang is in our everyday vocabulary. Proudly so, for the majority of us!

To help decode the words I offer the following translation -

Dazza - short for the name Dazza the Dachshund.

Kinda - combining of the words "kind" and "of".

Snagga - a sausage.

Barbie - a barbeque.

Deciphering the Picture

A drawing of Dazza the Dachshund wearing a chesty bonds and boardies to show off his hard-earned beer belly. The accessory of the esky to help store belly maintaining beers.

Dazza - as above - short for the name Darren.

Chesty Bonds - the singlet Dazza is wearing. Named after the cartoon character Chesty Bond.

Beer Belly - the accumulation of belly fat that can occur in the frequent beer drinker. A term that is longer specific to the continent of Australia.

Boardies - men's swim shorts. Simarly to the beer belly, I believe this term is now more commonly known throughout the world.

Esky - Australian brand of portable cooler box. The crew in the land of New Zealand refer to it as a chilly bin. Esky - well just easier to say! Brand of cooler equates to name of item. Completely logical to an Australian.

Explaining the Seemingly Righteous Subtitle

I have to admit, I cringe when I see animals dressed up in costumes.

I understand it is for fun.

In some cases it is for their warmth and/or protection - but I do wonder.

Do the animals enjoy it?!

OR

Is it a form of cruelty?

I couldn't help myself by leaving a baiting line as a subtitle to potentially stir the play pot of perspectives.

My own perspective I am thinking is obvious. I feel like unless there is a functional reason for an animal to wear clothing, it should be left free to be donning their own skin, fur, scales or other.

Anthropomorphic characters more my style if dressing up pets is on the cards.

I don't mean to diss the competition, I am all for pets eating well and supporting the uniqueness of our pets' personalities.

I was just wondering what the general consensus was. Maybe there are special costumes for them that don't irrate their skin, or give them grief when they are trying to play and...you know, be themselves!

Other Random Yet Completely Relevant Information

- Dazza was born from playing with prompts from a 100 day drawing challenge.

- Dazza's outfit comes straight from my partner's general weekend attire.

- I love watching a daschund strut its stuff. How can you not love a long belly that is so close to the ground?!

- Buddy from Secret Life of Pets is one of my favourite characters. The massaging mixer - pure gold.

- When the challenge presented itself I thought, wonder would would happen if I submit a drawing vs a photo. Is it colours outside of the lines at little too much - or as we would say in Australia "taking the piss"

I almost talked myself out of even attempting it until I read the word "dachshund" in the challenge description.

The sign I needed to nudge the fingers to give it a go and push the "submit" button.

- I am carving out time to bring back drawing to my day.

If I get the kids involved it is a sure fire win-win situation.

YouTube has awesome drawing tutorials to do together. Throw in a handful of different mediums, including the digital kind - well -you have got yourself a colourful and fun way to spend a rainy or lockdown kinda day.

----------------------------------------------

Thanks for reading

Thanks for being you

Senryu originally published on Medium

dog
Like

About the Creator

Amy Marley

Energy seeker who is amused to be confused...often!

Loves to play and rhyme along the rollercoaster journey called life.

amymarley.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.