Petlife logo

Daisy and Beanie

#5~ Beanie Learns to Sit

By Krystal KatzPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2
Daisy and Beanie
Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

Beanie’s POV

Up until now, this story has been told by my sister, Daisy. But, it’s not just her story… It’s mine, too! So, let me introduce myself. My name, if you haven’t already guessed, is Beanie. But, they call me a few different names like, “Bean”, “Ben”, “Benny”, “Beignet”, “Beanie Baby”, and “Beanie Boo”. I’m Daisy’s twin sister (sometimes they call her “Crazy Daisy”!). Once upon a time, we looked very much alike! But, the older we get, the easier it becomes to distinguish us, not just by appearance but also by our personalities!

I’ve always been known as the “good, shy girl”. When all of my littermates would be off playing, I’d usually be the last to join in with the fun. It wasn’t that I didn't want to play— I just guess I was a little unsure of it all. Instead, I found that my favorite thing to be was the spectator! I’d sit down, calm and quiet, and I’d watch Fat Brother, Pretzel, and Daisy run around and play.

But, now that we’re a little bit older and it’s just Daisy and I, I’ve found that I actually like to play! It’s not as scary as it once seemed! For hours on end, Daisy and I will run around the house and nip at each others’ ears, legs, and muzzles! We’re so full of energy, and it’s hard to get us to calm down once we’re so crazy! We only stop playing when we’re so tired that all we want to do is just curl up in a blanket and fall asleep! But, sometimes we don’t even make it to a blanket! Sometimes we’re so tired that we just rest where we stop and close our eyes.

But, when we wake up again, we’re back to playing!

Thing is, only My Girl and Her Girl know this of me.

I’m still getting use to new people and new situations. While Daisy will jump at the chance (literally) to meet someone new, I stay where I am. I stay sitting or curled up in a little ball of fluff, and I just watch the interactions from afar where it’s safe.

So, when we visited Grammy and Grampa today, Daisy and I were on our best behavior. We didn’t run around like we do at home. And we didn’t jump all over each other or try to nip any fingers or toes. My Girl set us down on our soft blanket on the ground, and she surrounded us with the toys she’d brought with us — Duck, Raccoon, or Little Lambchop usually come with us — and we walked around a few times, our little black noses pressed to the blanket as we sniffed about, and then we settled down.

As the world turned to darkness and puppy dreams came alive in my mind, I could hear Grammy saying to My Girl, “They’re so quiet and calm!” And My Girl responded with a laugh, “Usually they’re not this quiet. When we were home, they were bouncing off the walls. Even Beanie. Don’t let her fool you. They’re just on their best behavior now.”

Even Beanie.

Don’t let her fool you.

I’ve fooled a lot of people.

“Beanie? No!” I could hear Grammy laughing. “But she’s so quiet!”

I guess I’m just better at hiding the “crazies” than Daisy when it comes to strangers and strange situations. But, this is what growing up is like! You change so quickly! I’m always going to be a good girl, but I think, with time, I might learn to be a little less shy. I just need more confidence, but I’m getting there. One paw step at a time, I’m finding my way!

And, along with growing up and learning our personalities, we’re also learning new tricks! Only a few days ago, we learned that the “crate” was a good thing. But, we were still a little unsure about going into it alone. If My Girl or Her Girl were there, it was okay, but they can’t always be with us.

Still, once all was said and done, we learned “crate” pretty quickly. My Girl and Her Girl put us in our crate and gave us lots of yummy treats, and then they’d step away. I’d sit patiently at the door of the crate, waiting for them to come back, but Daisy would whine and cry. It was only when she stopped crying, even for a second, that My Girl would come back out with more yummy treats and give us lots of praise!

This process would go on for about 30 minutes until Daisy and I learned that when we were quiet, we got treats. Finally, the door to the crate opened and, by then, we didn’t even want to leave that bad! But, My Girl and Her Girl were waiting on the other side with open arms and lots of praise, so, tails wagging and little paws bopping, we hopped out and gave them love!

“You pups are so smart!” My Girl praised. “You learn so quickly!”

And now we’re back in the main room, and we’re learning again! This time, though, it’s not “crate”. We’re learning something a little different! My Girl gets on the ground in front of us, and she holds a treat in front of my nose first. I stare at the treat, confused, and I lift my nose to come and greet it. As I do so, my rump hits the ground. And My Girl says, “Sit!” and then “Good girl!”

I stare at her, my head tilted. What did I do? And she ruffles my fur, praising me, as she hands me a yummy treat.

When I’ve calmed down from all the praise, My Girl does the strangest thing… She does it again! She holds a little treat in front of my nose, like she’s forgotten that we just did this, and she waits. To humor her, I repeat my behavior, too. It must be some sort of game! I lift my nose to the treat, my rump goes down, and My Girl repeats, “Sit!” and then “Good girl! You’re such a good girl!”

It’s a funny process, but My Girl keeps doing this and I keep following along until the game changes and I’m one step ahead of her! Instead of waiting for her to hold the treat to my nose, she’ll say “sit” and I’ll just put my rump to the ground. This is what “sit” is. She says “sit”, I put my rump down, and she gives me treats and praise!

Daisy watches the entire thing. She’s on My Girl’s lap and she doesn’t seem too interested in learning anything. But, My Girl says I’m so smart and I’m so good! And she gives me treats and treats and treats! I want to make her proud!

So, we stop playing our games for a bit and take a rest. But, later on, when it’s almost time for bed, and My Girl stops in front of me with a treat once more and says “sit”, I don’t even wait a beat. I land my rump down, and I “sit”.

My Girl gets down beside me and I kiss her face as she calls me by name. “Beanie, Beanie, Beanie,” she says. “You’re so good. You’re so smart!” And she pets me and pets me. “We’ll learn some more tomorrow, Benny. But for now, you’ve done so good, and it’s time for bed! Come along, pups!”

Daisy and I race after My Girl.

dog
2

About the Creator

Krystal Katz

I'm an aspiring writer and also an animal lover! I hope you enjoy all that I’ve posted!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.