Petlife logo

Daisy and Beanie

#4~ Crazy Daisy's Infinite Love

By Krystal KatzPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
2
Daisy and Beanie
Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

Daisy’s POV

When you’re a puppy, I guess it means you get to meet a lot of new people. We’ve been meeting people every day, but today we met even more! I didn’t even know that many people existed! But, they do! And they’re so excited to see me and Beanie!

The day starts off like it has since we got to our new home three days ago— our forever home! The sun has yet to rise, but I wake up in my soft bed with My Girl early in the morning. In the hazy darkness of her room, I lick her face and climb all over her, and she giggles and pets me and gives me lots of love.

“Good morning, Daisy,” she says. “Who’s a good girl?”

I give her another kiss. I’m a good girl. I’m a good girl!

My Girl lifts me into her arms, and she takes me out in the main room. When she sets me down, I do my business on the training pad, and I get lots of whispered praise! And then I eat some food and drink some water because it’s been a long night! Once I’ve eaten enough to hold me over, My Girl takes me back to our bed of blankets and pillows and we fall back asleep.

When we wake up again, the sun is shining through the windows. I once more lick My Girl’s face and climb all over her to let her know I’m ready to get up, and she groggily pets me and says, “Daisy, Daisy, Daisy” with a small laugh. She hands me my rose toy, and I chew on it as she gets ready. “You’re so good, Daisy.”

She ruffles my creamy fur, and then she leads me out of her room. My little paws bop and bounce as I race to follow her big footsteps. The next thing I know, I’m hearing another door open and Beanie and Her Girl are coming out of the other room. Beanie chases after me as we weave around Her Girl and My Girl, and we wag our tails and lick each others’ muzzles.

Once we’ve greeted each other, we head straight for the training pads. We know exactly what we’re supposed to do! It’s potty time! Potty time!

“Go pee-pee, poo-poo,” My Girl and Her Girl say in unison, watching us with affection. And we whimper and whine, letting them know that we’re almost ready. We sniff around the training pad and walk in circles, and then we squat.

When we’re finished, My Girl and Her Girl give Beanie and I lots of praise. And then they disappear around the corner into another room and come back with… milk! Warm milk! Our owners make it especially for us because we’re so young and we need it to keep healthy and strong! They place it on the ground, and Beanie and I run towards it. Our muzzles immediately dip into the milk and we lap it up, drinking until our stomachs’ content.

Our muzzles drip, but My Girl and Her Girl crawl down onto the ground and give us big kisses, anyways, and they tell us how good we are. Then we continue to eat our dry food, and after that we just have so much energy that we run around like crazy all over the house!

Beanie and I chase each other and nip at each others’ ears and legs. We growl lightly, rolling over and pouncing. We take turns grabbing either ends of the rose toys and playing tug-of-war, and then we pass around Chicken Toy; it crinkles as our sharp little teeth dig into it, and we shake it as hard as we can. Our little paws race and slide across the hardwood, and I just narrowly miss hitting the wall because I’m going so fast.

“Oh no!” My Girl calls, watching us play. She covers her mouth. “Don’t run into the wall, Daisy. You don’t want to hurt yourself!”

I bop around like nothing has happened, and me and Beanie are back at it, running around like crazy pups, pink tongues lolling as we run.

I’m still learning to respond to my name, but I keep hearing My Girl say, “Crazy Daisy. You’re so Crazy Daisy!”

Crazy Daisy!

Crazy Daisy!

Crazy Daisy… and little Bean!

I break away from our little play-fight, and I hop over to the water bowl. Her Girl says with a smile, “Are you a little bunny, Daisy?”

Beanie follows me, and we both lap at the water hungrily. And then we feel tired, drunk on water and fatigue. Beanie and I slowly walk down the hall towards My Girl’s room, and we climb into the soft dog bed and pile of blankets. My head hangs over the side of the dog bed to watch Beanie fall asleep on the blankets below. My eyes slowly but surely grow more narrow, energy draining, until they close completely and I’m dead to the world.

By the time we wake, blinking groggily and yawning, little snouts open wide, there’s noise coming from the other room. Curiously, Beanie and I stare at each other and then walk out into the main room to investigate. And, guess what we see? Guess! Guess!

Little furry creatures!

Her Girl and My Girl have set up the cages that had enclosed the little furry creatures, and they appear to be cleaning them. The little creatures run around their big cages and squeak. Beanie and I run to the side of one cage and then the other, staring at them with curiosity. There are four of them — and they all stare back at us with the same beady eyes.

“Do you see the little guinea pigs?” My Girl says. “Do you like little piggies?”

Beanie plops down and she wags her tail calmly, staring into one of the cages. I put a paw on the wire bars, whining. Yes, we want to play with the little piggies! I think. Can we please? I look over at Her Girl and My Girl, hoping they’ll let them out of their cages to play.

But Her Girl shakes her head sadly and says, “You’ll get to meet them later, little pups. Once you’re a little older.” Her expression changes, and she gives us each an excited pet and continues with a kind smile, “And then you can all be friends!”

So many friends! Beanie and I bounce around the cages, excited. We like friends! We’re going to have so many friends!

We run around on the rug as Her Girl and My Girl finish cleaning, and then the next thing we know, Her Girl and My Girl are putting on our little harnesses and leashes! Again, we get lots of praise, and then they take us outside in the grass. It’s a nice and sunny day, and the air is a lot warmer than it has been. But, the grass is still a little cold and there are dried up leaves everywhere!

Instead of walking around, Beanie and I push our muzzles to the ground and chase after the little leaves! Her Girl and My Girl laugh and say, “No, no, little ones. You can’t eat the leaves!” They follow us around and take the leaves out of our mouths, and then we go to the car. I wonder where we’re going now… It makes me nervous.

Her Girl is behind the wheel, and Beanie and I sit in My Girl’s lap. I try to fall asleep, lulled by the vibrations of the car and My Girl’s safe hands around my body. But, Beanie is a little scared. I watch her through half-narrowed eyes, my head rested on My Girl’s leg, as Beanie stares up at My Girl and whines, her eyes wide.

“We’re almost there,” My Girl says, comforting Beanie. She pets her and pets her, cream fur flattening and then fluffing back up with each stroke. “We’re going to Grammy’s house, little ones. It’s okay, Beanie.” In a soft voice, My Girl continues to repeat that we’re almost there and that everything will be okay.

And, then, before we know it, the humming of the car has stopped. Her Girl looks over from behind the wheel and she says, “We’re here, pups! Time to see Grammy!”

We like Grammy! Our ears perk, and we wag our tails. “Ready, pups?”

Her Girl and My Girl lift us into a little carrier, lined with our soft blanket from our old home. It still smells like Fat Brother and Pretzel, and we curl right into the warm sherpa. My Girl grabs the carrier, and she brings us to another house. This house must belong to Grammy! Because, there she is! Grammy is inside the door, and so is… Wait, who is that man?

Beanie and I are let down from our carrier, and we run to greet the new man. My Girl and Her Girl refer to him as “Grampa", so Grampa he shall be! Grampa gives each of us a small pet, and then Grammy comes over and she gives us all the love in the world! She lifts each one of us into her arms and we go over to the sofa! Beanie and I give her kisses as she pets us and smiles.

My Girl and Her Girl then lay down a training pad by the door, and then they say, “We’ll be right back, Daisy and Bean. You get to stay with Grammy and Grampa!”

We watch the door close behind our owners, and then we stare at Grammy. Beanie and I let out a whine, wondering where they’ve gone, and then Grammy says, “Don’t worry. They’ll be right back! They have to go visit a kitty they’re pet-sitting!”

Kitty? What is a kitty…?

Grammy lets us back down on the ground, and we run around for a few minutes, but the car ride has tired us enough already, so it doesn’t take long before we curl right back onto our fluffy blanket and close our eyes.

I don’t know how much time has passed, but by the time we wake, Her Girl and My Girl are back. We stay at Grammy and Grampa’s a little bit longer — enough to see Brother and Mumma visit! We love Brother and Mumma, too! — and then we get back into our carrier and head, once more, to the car. We stay in the carrier on My Girl’s lap this time, tired from all the excitement, and then we drive away. The next thing we know, we’re heading back home.

And, when we get home, we meet yet another person! He flocks to Her Girl’s side, so I think I’m just going to call him Her Boy! He really likes to play with us, just like everyone else! He gets down to our level, and he pets each of us and plays with us until My Girl says, “Alright, I think it’s training time!”

Training time!

What are we learning now?

My Girl gets on the ground, and she holds out her hand. We run towards her, and we sniff the air! It smells like yummy treats! Beanie and I wag our tails as My Girl gives us each a treat, and then she crawls into our crate! I don’t like going into the crate because crate time usually means our owners are leaving. But, this is fun! We scamper after My Girl and she helps lift us into the crate with her! Her Girl and Her Boy lock us three into the cage, but I don’t mind because we’re all together!

My Girl gives us lots of treats and love, and we bounce around the crate, digging at the corners of the soft bed and exploring every inch of it. There are some toys — like Duck and Raccoon! — and a water bottle! My Girl showed us that you have to lick the snout of the water bottle and then water will come out!

We continue to play in the crate for a bit, My Girl at our side, and then we fall asleep. When we wake up, My Girl is gone and Beanie and I are alone in the crate. There are treats scattered around the soft bed, and I see Her Boy and Her Girl sitting at the table beside the crate. I don’t feel so scared of the crate anymore, though. The crate means “yummy treats” and playtime with Duck and Raccoon! Besides, if My Girl likes it, how can we not?

We stay in the crate for a little bit longer, and when the cage door finally opens, Beanie and I don’t even feel like leaving! We like the crate just fine! But, then Her Boy wants to play, so Beanie and I hop out and we run around the main room!

My Girl and Her Girl join in, and we’re all just playing and having so much fun! They say our names and give us treats when we respond, and then we play and train until we grow too tired, and then we crawl back into our crate! My Girl rushes over with more little treats, and she says, “You’re such good girls. Who’re my good girls? Daisy and Beanie!”

We eat our treats, and then we curl up side by side and we fall asleep. The crate is a good place to play and rest!

But, the day isn’t over yet! We sleep for about half an hour until Her Boy leaves, and then two new people come in his place! We have a revolving door of visitors! A girl and another boy (called Auntie A and Uncle B) come in, and immediately they fawn over us! They sit down on the ground, and we run up to them. We know the drill by now: we play with them and give them kisses and they give us kisses back, along with an infinite amount of pets and love! By the time they leave, Beanie and I are completely pooped! The sky is dark outside, and it’s almost time for bed! We’ve had such an adventure today! My Girl and Her Girl give us our last milk for the day, and then we rest on the rug a little bit until it’s time to go to bed.

Beanie and I do our business, and then we follow My Girl and Her Girl into our respective bedrooms.

I love my new family! Every single one of them! I didn’t know that it was possible to love someone so much, but it is. I feel it every time I look at them. I feel it every time I curl up beside My Girl when we go to bed and every time we play and every time we have puppy kisses! And I feel it every time My Girl looks at me and she says, “You’re so crazy Daisy. My Crazy Daisy!”

I can tell already that it’s going to be a good life! My Girl and Her Girl and all of our new family will make sure of it… because one thing there will never be any shortage of is love.

“Good night, Daisy-girl. I love you, I love you, I love you.”

I love you, too.

I close my eyes.

I love you, I love you, I love you, too.

dog
2

About the Creator

Krystal Katz

I'm an aspiring writer and also an animal lover! I hope you enjoy all that I’ve posted!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.