Petlife logo

Cute But Dangerous

Not feeding the wildlife is important.

By Rachel AndersonPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
1
Female Coyote at Lake Mead National Park, NV

I'm a constant hiker and love to camp. Recently I've noticed an increase in wild animals approaching humans, especially amongst the raccoons and coyotes. It is a big concern.

The most recent experience was last week when I was camping around Lake Mead National Park outside of Las Vegas in Nevada. I was luckily in my vehicle. Unfortunately, as I was in my car, a lone female coyote came up and started circling my car before sitting three feet away from my driver side door. When I looked over at her she stood up and stared right at me. Any time I moved she would stand up and get closer. Finally I got the message from her. She was hungry and thought I was going to feed her.

Growing up in a small farming town surrounded by woods I was always taught not to feed the coyotes or raccoons. Once they find a constant source they will come back for more. If they don't get what they are there for they will find a way to get it.

I bring my registered ESA cat with me when I camp. A coyote outside my car, hungry, and clearly used to being fed by humans, had me worried. When my cat caught sight of the coyote she would not move from the window. When I picked up my cat the coyote perked up like it was dinner time. I tried running the coyote off three times, threw rocks. Each time it came back.

I do understand that wildlife is beautiful to watch. They are also to be respected. They just should not be fed by humans. It is becoming so bad that at an event around the lake, not long ago, a pet dog was attacked. The fear separation between humans and wildlife is decreasing. While pigeons may not be dangerous, other wildlife is. Raccoons can carry rabies; coyotes can as well. Even if they don't there is still the chance they can attack. With food scarce for all wildlife they are forced to scrounge and scavenge for food. When they find a source, whether it natural or from a kind hand, they don't know the difference. All they know is that it is food. They will come back and get what they came for one way or another. I have just one request from fellow campers and hikers. Please secure your food and do not feed the wildlife. It could mean the difference between life and death for your beloved pet or yourself.

wild animals
1

About the Creator

Rachel Anderson

You can take the girl out of the country, but you can't take the country out of the girl. I like it that way. Love experiencing and being part of nature. Rest of the time I work in the kitchen making sweets for people to eat.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.