Petlife logo

Crabby Gabby

Enlightened Agreements

By Holly YandlePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Gabby and I hanging out on the porch

This cute little lady lives outside on my deck. Crabby Gabby and I have an agreement. I do not spray harsh chemicals, knock down her web, or kill her and she does not come inside or get on my bike. She teaches me like the spider Charlotte from Charlotte’s Web to suspend my arachnophobia induced tendencies of violence. I let her sit in a beautiful spot spin her web and eat bugs. It is nice. She is a lot cuter and less menacing then say a wolf spider, brown recluse, or black widow.

I remember the first day I met Gabby. It was beautiful and sunny out. The sky had two big globs of pure white cotton candy clouds interrupting the deep expanse and the sun lit everything with an iridescent glow. It was an ordinary day here in Key West, much like every other. I came up the steps to push through the swing gate door headed to my apartment. There she was, right at eye level. I had never seen one like her before. I completely stopped in shock, awe, and a bit of fear. I mean right off, I was not sure she was a spider. She looked like a crab also. I couldn’t believe that a crab was in the air, so tee tiny with eight legs complete with a sheer and shiny web. The thin lines caught the shine from the sun and flashed, particularly when the breeze blew by.

Gabby had a lot to say with her presences. This is how she got her name. Well, that and it was a fun name that rhymed with crabby. So, immediately she became Crabby Gabby to me even though she never really seems crabby at all. As a matter of fact, you can tell from the picture she seems happy in a mellow sort of grateful to be here way. She brings a pop of color with her coral color to the otherwise mellow yellow and white porch. She is a sharp contrast with her spiny little shell and black polka dots on the white. This is Gabby in her natural habitat.

I have taken several pictures of Gabby, but this is my favorite. This is the day that we made the agreement. This is the day we were having a heart to heart. It was kind of funny because the wind blew, and her web came flowing into the camera. I’m not going to lie, I screamed like the terrified little girl I can be when creepy crawlies come my way unexpectedly. She just smiled and giggled and said she didn’t mean to scare me. But I think secretly she kind of likes knowing she has the upper hand and I’m the slightest bit intimidated by her. So, seeing Gabby is not a one-time thing for me. Every day, I see her at least two times, once on the way out and once on the way in. She is an excellent neighbor.

Gabby’s bright demeanor greets me and reminds me to check all my baggage of whatever happened beyond the gate at the door and not bring it home with me. This is a sanctuary of peaceful sunny days and good cheer. Sadness, heaviness, irritation and all those lower vibrations don’t get to make it past my beloved gate keeper. She is my constant reminder to be a better person. She is also the bearer of reminders to be happy. Even though some things have scared me or produced fear in the past they can become my best mentors, teachers, and friends. If I will only take the time to talk to them, respect them and give them their space. My wish is for everyone to interact with a wild creature like Gabby.

wild animals
Like

About the Creator

Holly Yandle

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.