Petlife logo

Companionship

My Baby

By Morgan CostaPublished 5 years ago • 3 min read
Like
My Happiness💖

All my life, I grew up with a dog. Since before I could remember I had a furry best friend and now I don't have that in my life. When I was a baby my parents got a Samoyed puppy that I instantly bonded with. I grew up with her by my side and if I ever had a bad day or I was sad she was always there to cheer me up. I have always had a special connection with animals because of the relationships I had growing up. I've lived in my own apartment for nine months now completely companion free. It has been a lot harder than I had thought it would be.

Quite honestly, the hardest part about moving out was not having my baby whenever I was home. Before I moved out I had three dogs at home, one of which was truly was my baby. When I get home from a long day of school and work, I need some extra affection, there was always someone who is happy to see me. Granted, my boyfriend is happy to see me when I get home but it's a different feeling.

So about a month ago, I borrowed my baby from home. I took her for about three days. Man, did those three days make a difference. When my mom came to pick her up I was so sad to see her go but I felt way different than I did before. I felt like a weight was lifted off my shoulders and I didn't have to be so negative anymore. I felt like myself again and I almost felt like a part of me was whole again. I personally feel that I truly need a dog or even just an animal in my life. I really think that I need it and that it helps me be a better person. The affection of an animal is something like absolutely nothing else. It is truly irreplaceable.

See, the problem is I have two other roommates who I don't plan on living with forever. I need a dog to be with me and I cant have one where I am. Our landlord says no pets allowed but all of our neighbors have dogs. Another problem my boyfriends keeps reminding me is our roommates. If we got a dog now and six months from now get our own place, our roommates will be jealous and wont think it is fair that we get to keep the dog. One of the issues that I feel the strongest about is that we do not have a back yard. A 900-square ft apartment is not the right environment for a dog, they need to be able to run free and wonder around when they desire. It kills me, I hate this situation more than anything. I think about it all the time, each and every day.

There really is nothing I can do about it other than continue to borrow my baby from home. A piece of me is slowly dying without that kind of companionship every day. The only way for me to be able to get a dog is if my boyfriend and I move out and get our own place. Unfortunately, my boyfriend and I cannot move out on our own because California is too expensive for our budget. With paying for school, a car payment, insurance, phone bills and really just life. Until that day comes, I am just going to suck it up and just keep stealing my baby from my parents. Hopefully, until the time comes this will have to do for now.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.