Petlife logo

Clothes, My Girl's Best Friend

I love buying clothes for my little princess

By Elena AthonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
Clothes, My Girl's Best Friend
Photo by Elena Taranenko on Unsplash

I love shopping and who doesn’t. However, Ι have a closet full of clothes and usually can’t find anything to wear.

I’m sure you heard of that story before. However, I share my love for clothes will my dog (it’s my baby).

I own a 12-year-old toy Yorkshire Terrier, her name is Suki, and I love her so much. Suki is a name of Japanese origin meaning “loved one”.

Having her in my life made such a difference. There are no words that could describe what she means to me. You can tell I’m in love with her, can’t you?

Suki and I share the same love for clothes.

By Shanna Beasley on Unsplash

In the past, I thought that dog clothes were just for fun. They look cute in those outfits, don’t they?

I believed dogs don’t really need them anyway since they have their fur to keep them warm. Contrary to this is not the case for small breed dogs like my Suki.

Small dogs don’t have an undercoat as the larger ones to keep them warm, especially during the winter. They are more like us and lose their body heat faster. So we have to buy clothes for my girl, and here I go down the rabbit hole of Instagram ads.

I can’t resist buying clothes for Suki. I love to scroll through Instagram and buy one outfit after the other. As soon as I tell myself it is enough, more and more ads pop-up and tempt me to keep on buying.

It’s like someone is shooting ads at me, and I can’t resist. I take all the hits while having a smile on my face every time I add another sweater to the cart. The dogs posing on the ads look so adorable with their “puppy eye” look.

Only if you’ve been in my shoes would you know what I’m talking about. There are dresses, t-shirts, hoodies, costumes, sweaters, jackets, pajamas, coats, and the list goes on.

Photo by victosha on Yay Images

I remember a few years ago it was Christmas Eve and I was invited to a party one of my friends was having. I showed up with Suki in my hand.

Suki was dressed as Mrs. Santa wearing a beautiful red outfit, and I showed up as Rudolph the Reindeer. I wore just a headband with reindeer antlers, but everybody knew I was Rudolph. My red nose gave me away.

My friends couldn’t stop laughing, and their kids really loved the idea. Everyone has at least a dozen photos with Suki from that party. She looked like a princess.

She loves to pose for pictures and never says no to the hugs and kisses, especially receiving a compliment for an outfit. Last Christmas, my friends reminded me of this party and what a beautiful night it was.

Having dinner with my friends is something I really miss. Suki misses them too. They all love her and played with her every time we got together.

By Alice Cullen on Unsplash

So as you can tell by now, my lovely Suki has an extensive collection of clothes and her own tiny closet to keep them stored. I swear she loves getting dressed.

As soon as she sees me holding a sweater in my hands, she runs to me and tries to pull her head through the sweater.

I’m telling you she made me buy all her clothes, it’s not me… Well, kind of, we both love them anyway.

dog
6

About the Creator

Elena Athon

Blogging has allowed me to explore my creativity and voice in ways that I never knew were possible - all while connecting with people who are passionate about the same things as myself. Check out my blog: www.butterfulsoul.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.