Petlife logo

Celebrity Dog

Everybody has the cutest dog in the world

By Kim SlonePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Everybody has the cutest and smartest dog in the world. I know I do, and everyone who loves a dog feels the same way about their dog. A family dog makes a huge difference in the life of the whole family. Read on for more:

Celebrity Dog, by Kim Slone, 2016

I have a celebrity dog. I know this because when I was shopping at the grocery store a woman whose name I don’t know stopped me and asked me excitedly if I’m the one who “has Rocket”.

Yes, I’m the one who has Rocket. He’s a cross between an English bulldog and a shih-tzu – picture a bulldog with a lot more fur and less scrunched face. Still the huge head and baby face. If you put “bulldog shih tzu cross” into your search engine, you’ll get a lot of pictures. Most of them are French bulldog/shih tzu mixes.

Rocket is very friendly, hence the people who know his name but not mine. He’s the perfect dog for me, since I tend to be socially awkward. I approach people easily enough but usually don’t know how to break off conversation. Unless I’m at work, and my job is to approach people and help them in some way – standard customer service – I don’t know how to act without a rule book in front of me.

Rocket takes care of all that. Something about a nose in your crotch starts the conversation. Then it’s all about the dog, and when you’re done, you say good-bye. People are usually in a good mood when he gets intimate with them – as a dog can get away with a lot more than a human can!

I wasn’t going to get a dog so soon. I’m a cat person. I love dogs, grew up with dogs, and was planning to get one eventually. I was looking at German Shepherds and Huskies, the wolfy-looking breeds. Wasn’t sure how they would get along with my cats.

A friend called me up to tell me she had a dog. She already had cats. I asked her what she was thinking. She said she was fostering him because he couldn’t stay with his first people. They were a very young family in an apartment and the wife who worked all day, didn’t have time for an energetic puppy. She said this dog was a “bullsh*t” and then she explained the cross breeding. Apparently some redneck decided it would be a laugh to have a dog he could call a “bullsh*t”. Lovely.

The dog’s name was Buddy. Very original. My friend placed him. Then a couple weeks later, that didn’t work out either. He went back to my friend. She decided to keep him. She named him “Q” after the character in Star Trek: The Next Generation.

A couple months after that, she posted an ad on Facebook to place him again. He was too big for her apartment, too. I had met him. I knew his energy level. I have a big house outside of town. I wouldn’t be able to let him run, because I’m too close to the bush. We have bears, wolves and porcupines here. I would have to keep him tied up and walk him. No, it wouldn’t do at all. Not this dog…

I told her I would take him. He was just too darn cute. And being re-homed as many times as he had was working on his nerves. He needed to settle down.

So now I have a Bullschitz – a more dignified spelling. And a very social dog. And he makes me get outside twice a day. And I named him Rocket, after that character in “Guardians of the Galaxy”.

And everybody knows Rocket.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.