Petlife logo

Catch Me If You Can

By Sammantha Wallace

By Sammantha WallacePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Growing up can be tough for us humans so it’s no different from animals. I won’t list all the breeds of animals that have it tough growing up, but just know it’s a lot. No different from your very own furry buddy.

My sweet fur-baby’s name is Cupcake, I adopted her from Tyler, Texas’s very own Pet Smart. She was 4 months old and she looked rough. She looked as if she needed someone to love her more than anything. That day I decided to adopt her. She had burns and cuts on her and she was spayed too early. I have had her a whole year now and I can’t tell you how long I believed she needed me more than I needed her. However, I look back at all my “funny”, “aww”, and even “what the heck are you doing” memories and I see I needed her more than she ever needed me. When I came in the room crying she was there for me. When I needed a good laugh she always did something you wouldn’t believe cats would do but surprisingly they do. Cupcake was always one for trying to figure out how to get the lid off of her treats. There are thousands of stories I could tell you about how my fur-baby acts like a crackhead. I know some of y’all are thinking it’s inappropriate to call them crackheads but if you knew her like I do you’d understand the circumstances. For example, she is very smart she knows how to open the lid that her food is in, if she ever got out of our room all I would have to do is shake her treats and she would come running as fast as she can to come see her momma. She isn’t just a cat or fur-baby or a animal. She’s home. She’s where I want to be when I’m not feel up to anything.

A story I could tell you so you can’t get the full experience of Cupcake:

Never underestimate a black calico they are full of excitement. Cupcake only a few months old was the wildest cat she would hide under a rug so nobody could find her but she had these big ears that stuck out. Her collar had a bell and I swear she hated it and she would fight and struggle to get it off. Now every collar I get her that has a bell it’s gone. She doesn’t like bells. For example, the bell supposed to be on the collar she has now is stuck in the drawer that holds her treats. She could stick her paws through the handles of the drawer she would try to reach her paws through the hole and grab her treats and try to fight the lid off the container. The things she does for treats is funny. I have taught my cat to sit for treats, I taught her to lay down and I taught her to reach for them. She runs down the hallway if you shake her treats and if she’s in another room. She likes to act like Batman. She will stand in front of a light and look at her shadow and she climbs to the top of the bed frame and leaps off and runs around the room really fast. We have a organizer in the closet we can’t put anything in there cause that’s her cat hotel she knocked everything out of it and crawled into a section of it and took her a little cat nap.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.