Petlife logo

Can a Cat adopt any kitten?

A crying kitten softens the heart of a cat

By Ainy AbrahamPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
6
Can a Cat adopt any kitten?
Photo by Nihal Karkala on Unsplash

It was midnight when all of a sudden a kitten's crying sound alarmed me. It looked like a kitten was in danger. My bedroom is adjacent to my backyard. 2 weeks back one mother cat along with her four kittens started living under the shed in my backyard.

Photo by author. Mother cat with her three kittens

Photo by author, The 4th kitten

My family is a kinda cat lover, we have two adult cats, fluffy and Brown.

So, I was telling you that I heard a Kitten's sound calling for help. I went out and looked for the crying kitten. The mother cat and her kittens were safe and sound. The sound was coming from outside of my house. I could not look outside as it was dark and the wall was a hindrance. I could not figure out from where the sound of the kitten coming.

It was distressing but I was helpless. I came back and went to sleep. Around 4 AM my daughter woke me up saying that one kitten was crying in the backyard. My daughter was worried and wanted me to go check on it. I went under the shed holding a torch, the mother cat and 3 kittens were lying up on a box, and one kitten under the box was crying. I called him politely. He was continuously crying. I also thought about how I could not figure out that the crying kitten was under the shed. Anyway, I was thinking about what to do. Then I thought the kitten must be hungry. I put some dry cat food on a plate and put it on the ground. The kitten came out and started eating, he was even crying while eating. It was white and black, like 4th kitten.

Photo by author. Two kittens that are white and black in color

The mystery was almost solved. I came in and went to sleep. That kitten kept on crying. He stopped for some time and then started crying again and again. Somehow after 7 AM, the kitten went to sleep.

Around 10 AM I went to see the family of 5. But to my amazement, they were 6. One mother and 5 kittens.

Photo by author

There were two white and black kittens. The riddle was solved. Last night, the mother cat rescued one kitten outside the house. That kitten somehow lost her mother and was crying near my house. the mother cat brought him in. This was priceless. A cat saved an unknown kitten. That kitten could be attacked by street dogs as there are many in my area.

That rescued kitten was still crying and wanted to play with the other 4 but they were hissing on him. Cats have peculiar smells and that kitten's smell was different from theirs. The mother cat was letting him come closer but was not comfortable.

Photo by author

My youngest daughter played with that kitten and comforted him. We tried to bring all the kittens together. While playing around their smells mixed up.

Just in about two hours, they huddled and slept together. The mother cat let him feed. When I saw that, my heart filled with profound happiness.

I thanked God that the mother cat did not know to count. She did not mind his presence and started caring for him. Right now they are outside under the shed sleeping together.

Thanks for reading. Support this story so I may help more cats in my area.

Your little support will help cats in my area. Cats and dogs depend on our support for their better living. During pregnancy, they need our attention, love, and care. We as humans can move around and can earn for ourselves but these creatures depend on our care. Let's join hands and start caring for these at least in our surroundings. It's a beautiful relationship that opens up channels of love and kindness.

Originally published in Medium

fact or fictionhumanityhow tocatadoption
6

About the Creator

Ainy Abraham

Listening to stories has always captivated me. Now, I want to share my thoughts through my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi6 days ago

    Your story is a beautiful example of kindness and love with animals

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.