Petlife logo

Bongo Da Dog

My best colleague...

By Diana McLarenPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Our eyes locked across the crowded room. The party was in full swing, music blaring, mixing with raised voices as all around us people were getting to know each other and flirting. But I only had eyes for him. And he only had eyes for me. I knelt to the ground as he hurled himself into my arms. He was the sweetest dog I’d ever met.

Whenever people ask me where I got my dog I can’t help but wink and tell them, we met at a party. It’s true though. I had gone to a friend of a friend’s house and when I walked in and saw him, we fell in love. Later I found out he was already promised to someone and my heart broke. But the good news was, he was a difficult pup.

Our first desk day together!

Not in terms of personality, he has always been a sweetheart. But he was born the runt of the litter and with a severe cleft palate. As such he has some serious health problems and the vet thought they might get so bad it was suggested that Bongo might need to be put down the day he was born. But he was given a chance and by chance again we met. And when I found out his planned owner wasn’t working out and he didn’t have a home, I only hesitated for a moment.

I hesitated because at the time I was struggling in my business. I work as a freelance designer and a stand-up comedian. And at the time both of my careers had seen some lean months. Taking on a sick and thus potentially very expensive dog was not a wise decision. Not to mention that my job involves me heading out to different venues each evening, coming home at strange hours, and often sleeping late to compensate. None of which equates to a great lifestyle for a dog. But deeper wisdom spoke to me and told me this was my dog. We were meant to be together. And so despite the fact that it made no logical or financial sense, Bongo came to live with me.

Bongo's first festival show!

The first few months were rough. The fact that he was a puppy meant he wanted to be up at the crack of dawn every day, something I had not done since… ever. And due to his cleft palate, he had to be supervised while eating and at all times in the yard, as even a leaf could be a choking hazard. And to top it all off I discovered why his nickname as a baby was Growly. He loved to bark. He’d bark a blade of grass, a tree, the moon, the wind, didn’t even matter what. And it drove me up the wall. It’s hard to focus on your work when your young pup is doing an impersonation of someone learning to be a one-man-band. Yet every evening when I went to bed he would curl in against my side under the blanket like I was the only thing in the world keeping him safe and all would be forgiven.

Our Valentine's day show!

Eventually, he learned to sleep till noon, because after all morning cuddles are the best cuddles. And through treat training, we got the barking down to a minimum. Although there’s something about a strong wind that still sets him off. And miraculously as he grew, the hole in the top of his mouth that connects to his nose did not. And thanks to some great advice from a fellow fur mum I managed to teach him to eat in such a way food very rarely gets up his nose. Even the vet was shocked by how happy and healthy he was. And all the while he came to my shows.

Yoga assistance!

Again it took a lot of training but nowadays when we get to a venue he just sits next to me and chills and when I go on stage it’s no struggle to find someone to hold him. You may wonder why he doesn’t just sit on the side of my stage while I perform and we did try it a few times. But one day halfway through my set, which wasn’t going fantastically, he took a massive poop on the stage as if to say, I’m not enjoying this. And he got the biggest laugh of the day. Like mother, like son I guess.

His costume for our Drag Spectacular show.

By day he sits in his bed under my desk while I work and snuggles against my feet. Many of the people I work with know Bongo and he has been welcomed at festivals, photoshoots, and business meetings. Some of my clients have even opted for walking meetings with me so that Bongo can come too. He’s so popular amongst my friend’s I have a strong suspicion that one day his Instagram and Facebook following will outstrip my own and I will be nothing but proud.

Bongo curling up under my desk after morning walks!

And it’s not just amongst my business colleagues that he’s so popular. I’m not just a comedian I’m also a showrunner and as such. I have gone out of my way to pick venues where Bongo can attend as well. Some of the venues I work with have even changed their policy so that he can come with me. And he’s gotten me gigs. Other showrunners have booked me under the proviso that Bongo comes as well. He’s even been advertised as a part of the lineup for shows. And many a comedian has suggested me for a gig, not only because I’m good at what I do but also because my adorable dog will come as well.

Bongo staying out of frame for our conference call!

Of course, life is a little different now, here in New South Wales Australia where we are still in lockdown in an effort to stem the still spreading virus. I haven’t seen a stage in months and with the exception of our daily walk we don’t leave the house. Bongo loves it because he gets all of my attention. And I love him. He keeps me sane. He keeps me sticking to a routine. He whines if I don’t go to bed at a reasonable hour. He gets me up in the morning and he is the reason I get exercise every day.

Bongo attending our 24 Hour Theatre initial meeting!

Long before I heard about this challenge I selected him as Employee of The Week for my business, Dem’s Designs. He won for his dedication in his support role and for his constant concern for other employees' mental health and enforcement of regular breaks. He was rewarded with belly rubs and cuddles! And as much as it was a cute little joke it was also the truth. He is my little helper.

He won Employee of the Week!

It’s not a great time to be in the arts in my little corner of the world. Work is sparse and projects are few and far between. We can’t see most of our friends and even some of our family. The only chance I’ve had to see my grandmother in six months is by yelling at her over her fence. But every night when we go to bed, and Bongo curls against my side as if I’m the thing that keeps him safe in this world, and I know he keeps me safe as well.

You can read more about our journey in The Story of Bongo.

dog
1

About the Creator

Diana McLaren

Diana McLaren is a comedian, actress, and author based in Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.