Petlife logo

Black Beauty

A story

By AdanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Pets are a great blessing in anyone’s life. They are the only ones who love us unconditionally. Pets always offer us everything they have without asking for anything in return. The main aim of any pet’s life is to make its owner happy. Nowadays, even the term ‘owner’ is changing. People prefer their pets as kids and themselves as parents. This is how the relationship between pets is evolving. People treat them no less than humans. For instance, they celebrate their birthdays; get those matching outfits, and more.

In my opinion, I feel the pets rightly deserve it. The most common pet you can find at anyone’s place is the dog. A man’s best friend and the most faithful animal, a dog. I also have a pet dog that I love to bits. We got him when he was a baby and have watched him grow into a beautiful dog. All my family members love him with all their hearts. We love his silly antics and cannot imagine our lives without him. We named him Ben.

My father adopted Ben when he was a baby. His friend had given birth to puppies and they decided to put the puppies up for adoption. We convinced our father to get one for us. Considering they knew our family well, they immediately agreed. Little did we know that our lives would change forever after his entrance.

Ben came in as a blessing for our family. He belongs to the breed Labrador. Ben was black, pure coal black. He came in as a puppy with his cute little paws and eyes. We couldn’t stop gushing over this beauty. My siblings used to fight with each other as to who will get the maximum time to play with Ben.

As and when Ben grew up, he learned various tricks. We trained him to follow our instructions and he even learned a few tricks. We loved showing him off to our colony friends and relatives. I always took Ben out with me as he loved taking a walk on the road.

Furthermore, my siblings and I took on the responsibility of keeping Ben clean. Every week, we took turns to bathe him and brush him nicely. I remember I even got a bow for him from my pocket money. Ben loved it and wagged his tail in excitement. Ben has been with us through thick and thin and we will forever be indebted to him for his loyalty.

Before having a pet dog, we didn’t know what we would experience. After Sasha came into our lives, he changed them forever. Ben changed the meaning of loyalty for us. We learned how this faithful animal always worked for our happiness and safety.

Certainly, Ben made us better human beings. We are now more compassionate towards animals. There was one instance where the stray dogs were going to harm a kitten, and to our surprise, Ben saved that little kitten and got her home.

In other words, we have learned a lot of things from Ben. He protected us when we slept at night. He tried to cheer us up whenever anyone of us was sad. Ben’s obedience inspired me a lot to be kind to my parents. Therefore, all the credit for changing our lives goes to Ben.

There are many memories associated with Ben that I have not been able to forget to this day, but there is one memory above all that makes me cry.

It all started when I was sleeping in my room when suddenly I felt a strange noise. As soon as I opened my eyes I lit the lamp. I looked around and found nothing. I got up from the bed and reached the door, I opened the door and Ben hugged my legs and started crying. I picked him up in my lap and made him sit next to me, I gave him cuddles but he was not showing any sign of being quiet. At one point he climbed into my lap and died.

Whenever I think about that time I feel guilty for not knowing what was irritating him. Nature has maybe planned something better for him. We had a very great time with Ben. He has a special place in our hearts.

We miss you, Ben. Hope we meet soon in the garden of heaven & play together. Lots of love to your way.

adoptiondog
2

About the Creator

Adan

Exploring the frontiers of art in the 21st century 🎭

Find my socials: Linktr.ee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.