Petlife logo

Big Dog, Big Heart

Saint Bernard

By Nitisha ChapmanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Saint Bernard's are a very large breed of dog. Most people know them from the movie Beethoven. Based of that movie most people believe them to be big, fluffy, lovable family dog. There are even several movies that have Saint Bernard's as rescue dogs in snowy, cold climates. However, there are some people who know them from the movie Cujo. Based off this movie people will believe them to be vicious and mean dogs that should be feared.

I'm here to say, off of my own experience, that sometimes there can be a little bit of both inside the Saint Bernard breed. Generally a Saint Bernard is a very lovable and friendly creature. They do have some qualities, that while it may make some people cringe away from them, it makes other people desire them all the more.

First thing to start with is their size. Saint Bernard's are a rather large breed of dog. Generally the smallest of these beasts are females who range from 80 to 90 pounds, which is where my female is. The largest male I have heard about has been about 220 pounds. Some of them will look larger than they are depending on the type of fur coat they have. There is smooth coat, which my girl is, and it means they have short hair. Then there is rough coat and it means they have longer hair. Both coats shed quite a bit, but obviously rough coat is going to shed a bit more than a smooth coat will.

Next is their growth speed. Saint Bernard puppies grow very quickly. It is quite amazing to see pictures of a puppy at 8 weeks old compared to 8 months old. If the puppy is going to be on the smaller side then their growth is not as drastic. However, if their growth is going it be on the larger side then you can see a puppy's size triple within 3 to 4 months in both height and weight. Once about a year old is when their growth starts to slow down, but they will generally continue to grow until between the ages of 1 and a half years old and 2 years old. With a growth rate like that it is no wonder that younger Saint Bernard's are so clumsy and sometimes have difficulty remembering how big they are when it comes to jumping and sitting on you.

Drool. Drool is a big factor that deters many people from this breed. All dogs drool, but Saint Bernard's are known to have long strings of drool. I can tell you that not all of them have this. The jowl size determines how bad they drool. Therefore, the larger the jowl then the more drool you will see. The smaller the jowl then the less drool you will see. Will it still get on your car windows no matter what? Absolutely! Will they make a big water mess when they drink no matter the size? Oh yes! Is it easy to clean up? So long as you clean it before it dries it is easy to clean off.

Walking is another concern many people have. Many of these dogs are as big as their owners if not bigger. They are strong just like any large dog is. If trained properly, with the proper training tools and patience, a Saint Bernard could walk calmer than a much smaller dog. Everybody has different ways to train their dog for walking. I can only suggest to do things the way you feel is right and if you are unsure to try a training class to give you the proper tips on how to train without any harm to you or your dog.

Many people worry about how such a large dog is around elderly people, pregnant women, and children. Saint Bernard's are such loving dogs and they are good at sensing when they need to be gentle. Maybe not as young puppies, but as adults they are. I will use my Saint Bernard as a prime example. I brought my Saint Bernard home when she was 8 months old. So she was still a puppy. She had been around children several times at that point but had not been around anybody pregnant or elderly. We brought my grandmother over to meet her but had my grandmother sit down as my puppy gets excited around people and forgets her size. She went right up to the chair with my grandmother calmly and sat right next to her to put her head in my grandmother's lap. All without being told. Any child can walk right up to my Saint Bernard without any worry. She loves children and soaks up all their attention! Shortly after getting my Saint Bernard she started to act a little weird around me. We weren't sure what was going on as she wasn't acting aggressive or depressed. She was simply being more cuddly and wouldn't jump up on me anymore unless my husband was home. Even when he was home she would jump on him to lean into me. We came to find out 2 weeks later that I was pregnant! She knew and was trying to tell us. Throughout my entire pregnancy she stayed as close to me as she could. She went with me everywhere during my pregnancy except to work and to my doctors appointments.

Is it protection or aggression? Many people interpret a dog that is being protective as being aggressive. Saint Bernard's are very friendly dogs, however they do know when someone is not welcome or not supposed to be in the home, as well as sense if someone has bad intentions. They will also give a warning before ever attacking. Their general warning is that they will give a deep bark and continual growling. You can also see the hair on their backs stand up. If a person continues to intrude or come closer to who a Saint Bernard is protecting then their growl with get deeper and uglier while they give out a few more warning barks. If you are looking for a dog with extreme loyalty who will defend your family at all costs, then a Saint Bernard is the dog you are looking for. I never once worried about being home alone while my husband worked late at night once we brought our Saint Bernard home and I never worry because I know I am safe with her.

Are they really as lazy as some people say? For the most part yes they are. Saint Bernard's love to play, especially with children and other dogs. Once they are tired you will know as they will simply find a shady or cool spot to lay down in. If kids still want to play a Saint Bernard will just lay there and allow the kids to lay on them and pull their fur.

Overall Saint Bernard's are very loving dogs. Their mean streak comes when they are protecting their homes and families. I personally have never watched the Cujo movie but I have heard the Saint Bernard in that movie had rabies. Rabies would cause any animal that is normally friendly to become aggressive and mean.

breeds
Like

About the Creator

Nitisha Chapman

Just a mom looking to share her experiences of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.