Petlife logo

"Bella" Means Beautiful

The "Bella" Years

By Kathleen ThompsonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Bella's Koan

My youngest sister Michelle is the *“Elly Mae Clampett” in my family in regards to connecting with animals – she has owned cats, dogs, rabbits, and currently is raising chickens and a rooster! Over the years, through her experiences, she has introduced me to the nuances of many different dog breeds that inhabit our world.

One of the sweetest pets she had was “Bella,” an Italian Greyhound she adopted about 25 years ago. Italian Greyhounds are miniatures of the large-sized racing Greyhounds and started out being developed as a companion breed during the time of the Roman Empire. They are also fast runners, and at one time were used as hunting dogs for small game. Besides her sleek lines and very small frame, what I noticed first about Bella was her identifying markings, (mainly the spot on her back) along with her very pronounced high-stepping aristocratic gate - probably not a surprising trait since they were initially bred for royalty!

She truly was a beauty, hence given the name “Bella” to both compliment her striking appearance and Italian roots. She was well-trained, affectionate, and loved to play. Her running speed was off the charts, so unless she was out in a fenced-in area she was usually on a leash. Her attentiveness was markedly present as was her desire to be snuggled in your lap if you were at all interested in the idea. I definitely made myself available and welcomed her gentle countenance in my arms. I bonded with that sweet dog, often wrapping my arms completely around her to let her know she was safe and loved – I felt the same in return. Given this was my sister’s dog, I became the doting aunt – and this kind, lap dog/companion became my favorite four-footed “niece”. She had beautiful, large eyes that were most attentive and would follow you across the room. Like many Italian Greyhounds, Bella had a quiet, nervous demeaner which made her all the more adorable - besides being in your lap, her second best favorite nesting place was underneath the covers at the foot of the bed. You could not accidently sit on the edge of the bed without checking to see if the bump/roll was part of the covers or a dog hiding underneath in the warmth. The lack of body mass and fur made Bella a perfect candidate to both crawling completely under the covers at any given time or wearing a doggie coat inside or outside.

As a photographer, I enjoyed taking photos of this kind, regal soul. I put together a photo series of photos I took of her, entitled “The Bella Calendar.” As a photographer of 35+ years, my earlier days consisted of shooting my subjects with Black & White film, printing in the darkroom, and often tinting the prints the old-fashioned way with some hand-colored oils. Bella seemed to really enjoy the process of being part of any activity that our family was involved in, and often wanted center stage. My niece Bonnie who was about 5 or 6 years old at the time, enjoyed being a model for some of the shots in the series as well. Between wardrobe, props, the black & white archival printing, and posing – the series took on a classic, timeless appeal. I was thrilled to be making my art and having a couple of subjects who loved being in front of the camera while lending smiles, elegance, grace, and whimsy to the portraits. Bonnie, my niece, is now 30 years old – she loves looking back at herself in these shots – Bella was part of her childhood experiences and these photos bring back fond memories of her dress-up/ photo shoots with Bella, along with hanging out with her artsy Aunt.

The time we spend with animals, especially with those we bond, has such a deep impact on our lives. Those moments can potentially define a decade or make us laugh or tear up upon remembering. Sometimes animals allow us to be vulnerable - to feel our souls as we connect with them. The dogs I have bonded with in my lifetime have not only been good art/photo subjects, they have been valuable role models as to what being of service and unconditional love looks like. Bella brought so much comfort and grace to so many. In this moment, just the memory of her makes me smile!

*Elly Mae Clampett – a tender spirited character who loved her "critter friends" - from the 1960 TV series "The Beverly Hillbillies"

dog
2

About the Creator

Kathleen Thompson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.