Petlife logo

Being a Fur Mom

An Open Letter to My Fur Babies

By Luci EddinsPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Koi (Feist mix)

Dear Koi,

Eight years ago, when we first met, I never thought that I would come to love you this much, or that you would change my life in the wonderful ways that you have. I was excited and nervous, and I think you felt the same. I wouldn't trade that day for anything.

Five years ago, when I hit rock bottom, you sat with me when no one else would, and I've never blamed them. You gave me kisses, foot massages, and companionship that I'm convinced carried me to where I am today: far from rock bottom and grateful for it—grateful for you. If only we could all be so generous in how we give love.

One year ago, when you and I ran wildly into the sea, our bodies completely surrounded by water and bliss. I'll never forget that feeling, and something tells me you won't either. The sea is so much more wondrous with you in it.

Today, with you laying next to me as usual, I have to thank you for all the moments that you've stuck by my side. The boyfriends and breakups, the late nights and early mornings, the moments when I didn't think anyone was on my side—you were there for all of it. Thank you for trekking across this earth with me, for miles and miles and never asking for anything in return. You are my best friend and always will be, and you have my whole heart. I'm so glad you chose me eight years ago, and I promise to love and cherish you now and always.

Love,

Mom

Phoebe (flamepoint)

Dear Phoebe,

You have brought so much sweetness into my life, and so unexpectedly. You never fail to put a smile on my face, or anyone's face, for that matter. You've reminded me of the importance of long naps in the sun, of singing when it's dinner time, and of finding the fun in any and everything. Thank you for that gift.

I love seeing you as I fall asleep, and wake back up in the morning. I love it when you give me little baths, or tell me hello when I talk through the door. I love all the small ways you find to tell me that you love me, and I hope you know I hear you. I don't know where you came from or what you've been through, but I know that I thank the universe for you every day, my perfect little gift. Thank you for all the happy you've brought me. I'm so thankful for you, little lady.

Love,

Mom

Dear reader,

I don't know what I've done to deserve these two souls to walk with me in this life, but these creatures love me fiercely, and I hope they find me again in the next.

If you have fur babies of your own, cherish that journey and hold onto them tightly. We are so lucky to have them and I pray we never forget.

Peace + light,

Luci

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.