Petlife logo

Basil The Dog Detective Solves The Day

Why a little dog is the best emPAWyee of the month

By Sally HPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
The Dog Detective Looking For Clues

Basil is a wise and beautiful eleven-year-old cute Cairn Terrier. Since March 2020 I have been working from home, and the Dog Detective has been an honorable co-worker since then.

Like the "Bro' David Attenborough, I respect all animals. So I feel privileged to be able to watch the animated movie, "Basil the Mouse Detective." The tiny furry mouse detective of Baker Street solves the mystery of the disappearance of Olivia's grandfather.

This time-honoured movie, which I love, gave me the idea to give the title of "Dog Detective" to our resident sniffer companion, Basil.

My partner and I have been looking after Basil, for my partner's mother, while she has been away. We call my partner "Basil's Unc" or "Unca" and I his "Aunt." I couldn't be happier that this sweet, intelligent little EmPAYyee has volunteered to join me in my Working From Home adventure.

He does so with bravado and gusto for his important role.

Basil the Dog Detective searching for clues

Before I started working from home I worked in a high-rise building in the city with nine other people in my immediate team. It took a heck of a long time for me to adjust to not going into town on the train, not having to get up at 6.30am and not mixing directly or physically with people.

Luckily, Basil the Dog Detective solved the challenge of my not having physical contact with others, by telling me that we still all think about each other, and by gracing me with his sweet caring presence physically during my work-days! Hooray for the Dog Detective. He solved the emptiness of the "disappearance" of my office co-workers.

Cat and Dog Friendship ~~ Basil shares food with the neighbourhood stray.

Basil is a dog that likes cats. He shows his non-discriminatory policy in full force, welcoming the many cats that live in our street or that stray into our front yard.

While his Unc is busy, and I sit at my desk in my home study, the Dog Detective also exhibits the following traits of a first-grade emPAWyee.

1. Lets me know that I am not alone and makes us happy.

2. Keeps me on my toes.

Basil lies in the doorway so I have to step over him to leave or enter the room.

3. Reminds me of our time-tables.

For example, Basil "asks" for his 11 am biscuits right on cue.

4. Encourages me to keep going.

Basil usually falls asleep in my study, gently snoring. This reminds me of my bed and rest, which I treasure. "Just two more hours" - my thoughts soon turn into "Only one more hour to go" as I listen to Basil's soothing soporific (sleep-inducing) snores. I am grateful for the Dog Detective's "clues" that if I keep on going, I will get to where I want to go, in the end.

5. Looks after me bravely.

The Dog Detective also spends some time standing guard by our front window. Gazing out at the street, woe betide any dog with its person passing by. The fierce Dog Detective would let them know not to encroach on our territory. "Look out" any kid on a bicycle too, for our brave, small dog lets out barks and growls worthy of being the ring-tone for the "Big Ben" clock's bell of London!

But if it is is the Post-person delivering my next parcel of online shopping, my co-worker receives special smiles of appreciation from me. His barks for the post-woman are gentle, as he realises she is just doing her job, like him. What a clever Dog Detective!

Basil the Dog Detective returning with clues

My co-worker is a beautiful being. I love his golden wheaten colour, his silky ears, his smiling face, and especially his little wagging tail. It wags a lot.

It wags when his Unca plays with him or when he asks us for something to eat. It wags when he comes into my study, ready for his role as assistant while I am working from home.

Basil the Dog Detective is a Senior now, and at times he is too tired to get himself up on his couch. He has earned his rewards, which are left-overs at dinner-time, special treats for dog detectives and steps which I bought for him. Here is a picture of him at the top of his steps after a hard day's work.

Our emPAWyee is self-sufficient and gets himself onto the couch

The Dog Detective is hard working, well behaved and polite. What more could you ask from your emPAWyee? He takes me for walks, to help get us both fit. He raises a paw in exchange for a treat. He smiles with twinkling eyes when he is happy (and wags his tail). And he is a good sleeper.

The Dog Detective in bed, after a long day of working from home

Above all, our wise, golden, waggy, solutions-detecting Chief Happiness Officer has shown all the people and beings in his life, the following important award-winning lessons.

1. Don't automatically dislike your opposite, OR you can like cats (and if they like you, it's easier to do so). Help those who need help, like strays.

2. Enjoy your life and have fun and be in the present moment. Basil tells us that this Life is the one that you've got to live in, so ~~ know that you are never alone, keep on your toes (or be ready for anything), keep on going (despite what happens), and be brave!

Basil the Dog Detective having a well-earned rest

This month, the Dog Detective has been especially working hard, with his golden heart. For my birthday, he didn't fuss over his share of the roast dinner or the mud-cake. Basil's human mother has just returned home. His Unca took him to his Mum's for a day, to cheer her, and reassure her of success before going into hospital for an operation.

Basil is really sweet and no trouble at all, and I am happy and grateful that our dog "nephew" is still helping me while his mother is recuperating!

And so, I hereby nominate Basil the Dog Detective as emPAWyee of the month, for his excellent range of services honestly and freely given with smiles and snores fur-ever. Basil makes my work-days brighter!

Basil, the Dog Detective, and Gobi, the dog that ran with Dion Leonard

Basil would like to leave you with this "Spot the difference" picture. The Dog Detective challenges you with "One of these is me, which one?"

A clue, Basil asked me to give you, is "The solution is in the colour."

Thank you Basil the Dog Detective, for being my emPAWyee in 2020 and 2021. You deserve pats, love, treats and all the mysteries you want!

EmPAWyee of the Month - BASIL

dog

About the Creator

Sally H

I love reading, writing, researching, and supporting others. I run several WordPress blogs and have an academic background in the Biological Sciences and in Social Research. I also review non-fiction books.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sally HWritten by Sally H

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.