Petlife logo

Bam! My Pet Rhino.

Would I lie?

By Joseph DuncanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2021
8
Photo by Gerald Hartl on Unsplash

Before I tell you about Bam!, my pet rhino, let me first give you these two disclaimers: 1) Would I lie to you? Of course I would lie to you! I'm a fiction writer and, by definition, that's what fiction writers do. 2) I don't really like these pet challenges since I no longer have any pets. I think it's unfair. It's like having a challenge 'Tell us why you love your Chevy". Well, if you don't have a Chevy I guess you're just shit out of luck. Am I right? Of course I am.

Bam! followed me home one night, well, it was really very early morning after a hard night of drinking and partying near the zoo. At first I thought he was just a big ugly dog. Slowly I realized he wasn't a dog, as he just kept following me. I began to wonder if he was even there at all since I was fairly messed up on intoxicants. After-all, the old song is about elephants following you, not cute little baby rhinos.

I eventually made it home and left the door open just in case my delusional rhino was actually real. Sure enough, when I awoke in the middle of the kitchen floor a day or two later, Bam! was there curled up with me. That's it, I'm keeping him!

I saw on the news, later, that the local zoo had lost one of their rhinos. I had no idea rhino's were so popular as pets. I got one too, I thought, and would be heart-broken without him. I sure hope they find theirs soon. Poor little thing.

Bam! has been a big hit down at the dog park. All the girls seem to like him and not even the biggest dogs mess with him. I will tell you this, though, if you are going to have a pet rhino you'd better invest in the big industrial-sized pooper-scooper 'cause you're going to need it.

For this Vocal challenge, I was going to upload dozens of cute photos of Bam! dressed up for Halloween... Bam! as a ghost, Bam! as a witch, Bam! as a ballerina... but Bam! accidentally stepped on the camera and flattened it before I could.

It happens. Lots of things get crushed and flattened when you have a pet rhino. No, we won't talk about the neighbors mailbox or that little incident down at the car dealership. They're still pretty mad about that, I guess. You'll just have to trust me here, those Halloween photos were awesome! I'm sure Bam! and I would've won first-prize.

I've been in a bit of a panic knowing everyone will want to see photos, but I don't have any. Well, at least I didn't until those nice people from down at the zoo showed up. They were still looking for their lost baby rhino.

I just had to ask them, 'How on earth could you lose a baby rhino?' I would never let anything happen to my little Bam!. We talked and drank for a while and, with the police on the way, I reluctantly agreed to let the zoo people take Bam! for a visit to the zoo.

That's just the gracious, noble-hearted kind of guy I am. I knew there was a heart-broken mother rhino down there pining for her lost little rhino. If my Bam! could help console her for a few weeks until the zoo people found her baby, I'll be okay with it.

I must admit I'm a little lonely without Bam! bouncing around. The zoo people and the police have agreed not to press charges, the car dealership has insurance, and I've bought my neighbor a new mailbox.

The good news for you, my dear reader, is that I did manage to salvage one photo of Bam! in a Halloween costume. It's the one where he's wearing the invisible man/rhino costume. Check it out.

Photo by Kseniia Rastvorova on Unsplash

exotic pets
8

About the Creator

Joseph Duncan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.