Petlife logo

Australian Cattle Dog - The Canine Velociraptor

Insight for an aspiring Cattle Dog owner

By Briar RosePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Have you have heard the phrase "like a chicken with it's head cut off" or "drove me up a wall?" Well, let me introduce you to the Australian Cattle -or otherwise known as Blue/Red Heeler. As a proud owner of one stunning canine, I've come to believe they embody the two sayings perfectly. And by them, I mean me. I often times find myself feeling like a chicken with my head cut off or getting driven up the wall by those nipping teeth. My goal in this article is to provide some insight to those desiring cattle dog owners. First off-

Extra! Extra! Read All About It!

I'm not kidding! For any pet you plan on getting, do your reseach! Check out sites like American Kennel Club or Dog Time. Read articles or watch videos from current or previous owners. Learn about the needs of the breed before you get them. This is one of the most crucial parts of bringing a furry friend into your life. Ask yourself these questions-

Will I be able to meet the needs of my pet? Do I live alone or have other members in the house? Are there kids, young or old? Is there a baby around? Is the breed known to be aggresive toward children? Does it herd? Will nipping be a problem? Are there known health complications -hip dysplasia? Am I finically stable? Does the breed require little to no excersive? Will I be able to provide the right amount of activity for active breeds? Is the breed easy to train? How long does potty training usually take? Will I be able to put my foot down when necessary?

These questions simply cover the tip of the ice burg. There are so many more you need to ask yourself before you go ahead with getting a pet, escpically a cattle dog. This breed is highly intellegent and bred to herb cattle. Often times, families who are unprepared, claim these speckled friends as agressive. This arises from their herding instincts, chasing and nipping at the heels of many, hince the velociraptor nickname. Boredom and lack of activity is usualy the cause of the most aggresive heelers- which leads us to our next tip...

Keep Them Active

I can not stress this enough. These dogs require LOTS and LOTS of activity. Despite thier compact size, they have lightning coursing through their veins. A trip around the block will NOT satifiy their needs; sometimes a 3 hour hike won't even do justice. This breed has been bred to chase cattle ALL DAY LONG. Even when they reach past the ripe age of 10, they run all day. Trust me, a bored heeler is something you do not want on your hands. I learned the hard. They will chew anything they set their sight on and I mean ANYTHING.

Give Them A Job

Whether it be herding cattle, fetching the ball, or helping a blind person across the street; give them a job. Like said times before, heelers are bred to do a job and strive to do so. Since I don't own a farm or an extensive strech of land, puzzle toys have become my best friend. While they only give me a few seconds of freedom, I relish in it. An extremely bossy attiude will often follow boredom. When heelers have nothing to do, they will herd almost anything in sight or chew up that bill you needed to pay. I've learned that settting a set schuedule for the day will better keep them occupiced. Mine knows when it's time to go for a walk or feed, and if I do not do so on time she will not leave me alone.

Socialize Early

Cattle dogs are often known to be wary of strangers and for a good reason. Working dogs are meant to be suspious of unknown people. They were trained to protect the animals and property of a farm from thieves. With little socialization, territorial issues often arise. In the morning, my heeler will not let anyone in my room until I am up and moving. While I find this to be a great trait, with other dogs in the house it can be quite alarming.

Nipping

Yes, yes, I know. This is not a tip -simply a warning. Nipping is a real thing and can grow quite serious if not corrected. This act they perform has earned them their velociraptor nickname. There are plently of memes out their with this breed and the pre-historic reptile. When I first began my research on this breed, I found many people saying they attacked their children or chased them around the house/yard trying to bite them. This is their herding instinct! If you keep your cattle dog well exercised, this will not be a big problem. Australian Shepards, Border Collies, and even Shelties are also known to do this. No matter what pet you get their instincts will override your command.

Please know I'm not telling you all this to turn you away from the breed. In fact, my cattle dog has been one of the best dogs I have ever had. Their hightened intellegence allows my days to be filled with unexpected, but wonderful suprises. Their loyality to you will have you feeling wanted- maybe a bit more than you originally wanted- but wanted nonetheless. Mine follows me EVERYWHERE, even the bathroom. She has learned to nudge at the toliet paper when I go to the bathroom and can pick up new tricks in a matter of minutes. Cattle dogs are amazing pets, but are not for the faint of heart. They have a bossy attitude coupled with the need for lots of exercise. If you have the time and drive to take care of this breed, I highly recommend them. You will not be disappointed by their unique personalities.

Signing off,

A Fellow Cattle Dog Lover

dog
Like

About the Creator

Briar Rose

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.