Petlife logo

At What Age Should You Stop Getting Pets

It's something I hate to think about

By Brenda ReevesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
At What Age Should You Stop Getting Pets
Photo by Andrew S on Unsplash

I've loved animals all my life, and they've loved me. When my mother and my aunt passed away, I kept their dogs, Toby and Jo Jo. They left this world knowing their beloved pets would be cared for and loved. It doesn't always have a happy ending.

My roommate's friend is staying with us right now. His mother died of Covid before Christmas, and the family is trying to find a home for her two dogs. The dogs are a bonded pair, and they are trying hard not to break them up. I wish I could take them, but I live in a rented apartment and already have a dog and a cat.

It breaks my heart when I hear of someone passing away and leaving behind a pet that gets dumped in an animal shelter because the family doesn't want it. It's bad enough that the pet is mourning a devastating loss, but now it gets tossed into a cold, hostile environment and often euthanized.

When my mother was growing up, her grandmother, Mrs. Maples, lived with the family. She had a parrot named Polly. Every morning Polly enjoyed eating a cracker and sipping coffee with Mrs. Maples. Like everyone on earth, Mrs. Maples eventually passed away. Mom told me that two weeks later, Polly keeled over dead. Polly had mourned herself to death.

Author's Cat, Annabelle Lee

I recently discussed what would happen if we preceded our pets in death with a friend. I own a cat named Anabelle and a dog named Desi. My friend and I both agreed that we shouldn't get another one once our current pets pass away. We can't bear the thought that our dog or cat gets dumped in a shelter. I know that nobody in my family would take my pets. My children are not animal lovers like me.

Author's dog, Desi

A couple of years ago, I let my dogs Jasper and Toby go. They were both 15 years old and passed within six months of each other. I should have known better than to get another dog, but I tend to think I'm going to live forever. I adopted a three-pound chihuahua from the Humane Society. I think he's about four years old, and I'm 72 years old. Little dogs usually live to 15 years, but I've been meeting people with dogs that are 20 years old.

My mother and my aunts lived into their 90s. Even if I live that long, there will probably come a time when I can't take care of a pet anymore, but we'll see.

My brother and sister-in-law have been adopting old dogs for the last 15 years. They’ve gone through several dogs. Not everyone could handle losing a pet so frequently. I handle it pretty well when I have to put a pet down.

If you are getting up in years, and want to get a cat or a dog, consider adopting an old dog or fostering one. The shelters are full of them. Give them the love they need in their final years, and they'll love you in return.

You are lucky if a member of your family is an animal lover and agrees to take your pet when you pass. My mother and aunt knew that I would take their dogs. If you aren't that lucky, take that into consideration when thinking about getting another dog, cat or bird, etc.

My aunt told me about a friend whose husband died. Knowing that his old dog would mourn terribly, she had it euthanized and buried with him. At first, I thought that it was awful, but considering that the dog was old and probably didn't have that many years left, I believe it was a kind thing to do. That could be another solution. Put it in your will if you think that's something you'd want.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Reeves

I'm a writer, visual artist, animal lover and free spirit. Minimalism is my motto. I recently sold my car and live with the bare necessities of life. It's the only way to be truly free in this world of chaos.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.