Petlife logo

Angel From Heaven

Maria

By Tyler ToliverPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Daddy Loves You

I lived in a single wide mobile home that was a gift from God. I had a partner at the time, and Lord help his dumb witted soul, for he literally thought that the color of water was blue. Let's just say he even put grease in a frying pan made for eggs. I watched him every day and saw how he treated Maria. He would hold her head down and aggressively attacked/rubbed her belly too hard just to make her mad. I did not like this at all. So, one day I decided I had enough of his torture and stupidity and kicked him out, but told him I was keeping his cat, Maria. Maria was a special kind of pet. She was just like me a loner; we went for car rides and sat on the front porch together. Sometimes she just went to the bedroom by herself and went to bed just wanting to be left alone. She would even sit on the couch arm and sit in my spot in the living room so she could be to be close to me. When I was in pain or not in a good mood she knew, and she would come and lay beside me to comfort me in my time of need. We both knew that we loved each other and we were very happy. Now Maria was different. You would think most cats don't like baths, but Maria knew when it was bath time, and she would sit in the bathtub. She would get bathed and get out, but she would be mad which is a normal for a cat. She wouldn’t fight me or anything as normal cats would attack you for putting them in the water. For 6 years going on 7, I had the blessing and honor to be in her presence. She was an angel sent from God to me. One day I had to make the most horrible decision of euthanizing her because she had become so sick and was in a lot of pain. Since the day I rescued this little sweet angel from a person that really didn't treat her like she was meant to be, I had to step in and take her in my loving arms to show her what love was. That's when six years of my life became very special to me. It made me feel as if I was put here on earth to do something right for once. This choice I made was my best decision yet in life. She brought happiness into my life when I needed it the most. She was always by my side or under my feet in the car. She would make it known to everyone that she was daddy's baby girl. Then one day the worse thing possible happened. Maria couldn't breathe on her own, and she was drooling from the mouth. The look of death was in her sweet little eyes. This was a look I never thought I would see, and a face I never could dream of seeing again. I rushed her to the vet and the doctor knew just by looking at her something terrible was wrong with my Maria. I could tell by the sound of the doctor’s voice that it was Maria’s time; her time to be what she was meant to be, an angel sent to help me when I needed help the most. I held her head and I begged God to take her home, to make her happy like I did. I asked Him to watch over her every second of each day, and I thanked him for the gift that he had given me while it lasted. I told Maria that I loved her and always will love her no matter what. I love my beloved Maria and I will NEVER change that. R.I.P Maria Rodriguez Toliver. Daddy loves you.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.