Petlife logo

An Open Letter to My Bestie, Mouse

Woofity woof woof, woof!

By Pamela HazeltonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by the author

If anyone could translate this to Dogspeak, I’d be eternally grateful. #woof

Dear Mouse:

Despite all the belly rubs and carrots, I'm sure I haven't made it clear exactly how much I love you. You're my bestie, and here's why:

You never get mad at me.

Even when I scold you for chasing the cat, so she runs behind the TV cabinet. I don't think you understand the gravity of this situation. That stand weighs nearly 300 pounds, so it's not like I can grab a hand truck to move it. Sure, we could put some of those sliders underneath each corner, but that just looks tacky. So, when you force the cat to go back there, I have to wait for her to come out. This is not fun when you do it at 2am - a time we should all be fast asleep.

Anyway, thank you for not getting so mad at me you won't climb back under the covers and nuzzle up to the backs of my legs. This is my "white noise," and getting to sleep with you you pressed against me is nearly impossible.

You never leave my side when I'm sick.

Sure, your human daddy will bring me soup and check in on me, but you're there 97% of the time, leaving my side only to eat, get a snack, or run outside to do your business. You have no clue how much your watching over me helps me heal.

You guard us like you're invincible.

When strangers come to the house, you are on high alert. You've scared a few folks away over the years - we didn't want their pamphlets anyway. You're even used to the sound of the UPS and FedEx trucks, and Amazon delivery van. Now, if you could please get used to the neighbors across the street; they moved in months ago, so what's your deal?

You love to give kisses.

While I'd prefer some of those kisses weren't so slobbery, I feel blessed you care so much to show your affection. I'll be honest. When you try to give kisses while in a time out, it's super hard to ignore you. I have to remind myself to be strong and show you who's in charge around here.

You don't hold grudges.

Whenever we argue, you're the first to say you're sorry. If I don't immediately accept your apology, you flash those beautiful eyes at me. Yeah, it makes my heart melt. Within minutes we're besties again. You don't keep score or carry grudges. Gosh, I wish I could be more like you. I wish the world would be more like you.

You nuzzle up to me when I cry, trying to cheer me up.

You don't even know what's bothering me, but it doesn't matter. The fact I'm upset is enough for you to tell me that it's okay, you're here for me. Even when I do something stupid, and I'm upset about my own actions, you tell me not to beat myself up.

You never forget who you love more.

Remember when I had to go up North to care for family, and because of COVID, I got stuck up there for three months? We saw each other on Facetime some, but it's not like we could have any real conversation.

You spent so much time with human daddy I was nervous the entire drive back. I knew you wouldn't forget me, but what if you weren't as thrilled as usual to see me come through the front door. Oh, but you were! In an instant, you were back on my side, behind my legs, kissing me like crazy and telling me how much you love me.

This, and more, is why we will always be besties.

I know you can't read this all by yourself. And I know if I read it out loud, you wouldn't understand everything. Rest assured, I'm on the hunt for an English to Dogspeak translation tool. Can you believe it? Google Translate doesn't cover a language spoken by 900 million across the world. In a matter of seconds, I can translate this to Swahili, but if I want to know the number of woofs-woofs necessary to say, "I love you?" I'm screwed.

Hopefully, extra belly rubs, playtime, and carrots will make up for the fact that I'll never be able to truly tell you how I feel.

Love,

Pamela

Your Bestie

dog
1

About the Creator

Pamela Hazelton

Avid writer. Business marketing and ecommerce // Reward yourself a little every day. 🆆🅾🆁🅺 + 🅻🅸🅵🅴 🅱🅰🅻🅰🅽🅲🅴

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.