Petlife logo

An Eventful Hike

How my dog protected us from a dangerous situation.

By Kohli Kring Published 2 years ago 7 min read
1
From the Pine Creek Lake Hike.

The sun had not yet risen when Sidney, my German Shepherd, and I loaded up to go for a hike. I knew it would be a long day. My goal was to reach the trail head by no later than 6:30 am. The hike itself would be a rough one. The trail to Pine Creek Lake is labeled at the trail had as 4.5 miles with nearly 3600 feet of elevation gain. The average length of time it took hikers was around eleven hours according to hiking reports. Those same reports claimed the trail was both longer and steeper than the trailhead claimed. Sidney and I like to hike and while this sounded like a long rough day, I was excited to take on the challenge.

When we arrived at the trail head there were three cars and not a soul in sight. I was pleased to have beaten the crowds that are known to flock to this trail for the far shorter hike to Pine Creek Falls. As I double checked the pack to make sure we had everything we needed Sidney barked and whined in excitement. He bounced beside me like a 120lb toddler that had been given far too much sugar. Anyone in a mile of us undoubtedly knew we were there from his enthusiastic "talking". I had no doubt that his mixture of whines, barks, and growls could be translated to. Hurry up! We need to go!

We headed off and it was a perfect morning. Despite it being early September, fall was already beginning in the mountains. A cool breeze followed us as we began our ascent the warm sun a welcome reprieve from the breeze. Sidney, in true Sid fashion, found the biggest stick he could and began lugging it along with us whining every so often for me to throw it for him.

It wasn't until we passed the waterfall, still not a soul in sight, that we really began gaining some ground. I do freelance landscape photography so my camera is always on me when we go on these hikes. Soon, though, I had to put it away because the grade became so steep that the camera around my neck was touching the hill I was climbing. The terrain was rough, forcing you to take care with each place you put your feet. Sidney ambled up in front of me as always. His ears moving to listen to sounds I undoubtedly couldn't detect. He never strayed more than a few feet ahead whining encouragingly at me every so often. As if to say, come on you're too slow!

My speed wasn't helped by the fact that I paused every few minutes to survey and listen to the area around me. My pocket camera was handy to take pictures of the stunning views that surrounded us. At one point the forest went silent. We were at least 3 miles up by this point. A silent forest is never a good sign. I called Sidney to me who seemed unaffected taking my knees out multiple times with his newest stick as I carefully surveyed the area around us. It wasn't long before the noise of the woods returned and I shrugged it off. Telling myself I was just being antsy and paranoid.

We ran into three more waterfalls as we wound our way up. The biggest one Sidney and I paused to cool off in and refill my water bottles. The hike was fantastic. I watched as the mountain we'd began hiking beside became smaller and smaller until I could see past its summit. The trail went from stunning meadows to rocky woods to the rock the fields beside mountain peaks. Sidney happily wandered along with my taking the opportunity to smell each and every plant we passed by.

I kept a close eye on my GPS and elevation tracker. We hit 4.5 miles, but the trail kept going. While the views were utterly breath taking both Sidney and I were beginning get worn down. My elevation tracker had us at 4400 ft gained in 5 miles. Looking ahead there was more to climb.

"I'm sure the lake is just over this next hill," I would tell Sidney. Yet when we got up one hill another steep incline waited for us on the other side. Up and up we went. At one point I paused as a strange smell, unlike any I had ever encountered drifted by.

I checked to see Sidney's reaction to it. By this point he had given up his fetching antics and stood a few paces ahead of me tongue lolling lazily. Yet he didn't seem concerned. The scent was gone quickly, so I shrugged it off and up we went. My determination to make it only growing as we continued onward. According to my map we were nearly on top of the lake when I paused to take a picture of the stunning vista nearly at the top of the mountain we'd been climbing.

I slung my pack off taking out my big nice camera and got work setting up to get some images. Sidney wandered around me sniffing at some dried up flowers. I had just began taking pictures when Sidney began to growl. My first instinct was there was another dog. Sidney was attacked as a puppy by several dogs and does not like other dogs he hasn't met as a result.

I hollered at Sidney his command to leave it be and come back. We worked with a trainer to ensure that he is responsive to these commands. I spend hours weekly doing fun games so that his response is always immediate. But Sidney didn't back down and come to me. He glanced at me quickly, but refused to leave the spot. His hackles were up as he snarled down the trail.

Because of the incline I couldn't see what he was looking at. So I quickly slung my camera around my neck, threw my pack on, flicking the holder of my gun loose so that I could remove it quickly if need be. I spoke to Sidney calmly. Still hoping it was a dog coming with another hiker. "Hey Sid," I said trying to get his attention. "Sidney," I tried again. "What's going on? Let's go," I tried. He began slowly moving backwards still snarling up the trail. That same smell from earlier struck me, but it was stronger than before. So strong and disgusting that it hit my gag reflex.

He backed his butt into me. I went to move past him. Sidney spun at me nosing me backwards. I hesitated and he started nipping at me to move the other way. Back down the trail from which we'd come. With another glance up the trail I listened to him and slowly began moving back down the trail watching over my shoulder.

Sidney continued to growl, but followed behind me eventually settling down. I've been hiking with Sidney for three years and he never stays behind me on a trail. He always insists on at least walking beside me if not leading.

For the next two miles on our way down Sidney remained behind me anxiously looking behind us every so often. But nothing followed, fortunately, because if I thought the way up was difficult, the way down was ten times worse.

About an hour after we headed back we met another person on the trail. He was a man heading up by himself with backpacking gear. He was the first person we'd encountered all day. I spoke to him briefly, letting him know that my dog had become very reactive to something over what I thought was the last hill before the descent into the lake. He nodded, but continued on.

Sidney and I finished our hike. Enjoying plenty of fetch and dunks in the cool waters near two of the waterfalls. Our descent took us nearly double the amount of time as our ascent. But I was happy that the rest of the trip was uneventful. Even if I couldn't help the disappointment of not making it to the lake.

I didn't think much more of it until I told my boyfriend about the experience. He asked if I'd checked the hiking reports for the trail. I hadn't so that morning I pulled the reports up. Sure enough a male hiker reported that day in the early afternoon he was charged by a bear on the trail nearly to the lake. He had to deploy two cans of bear spray trying to deter it from attacking him.

While I can never say for absolute certainty that Sidney saved us from a bear that day. I think it is safe to say that it is very likely that he did. He is the best partner in crime I could ever ask for. I am truly lucky to have such a loyal and courageous boy looking out for me.

travel
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.