Petlife logo

Adventures with Orgone

Have you ever felt like you didn't belong?

By Tierra Idelis Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by DSD from Pexels

A caged barn owl, I pondered. What sense does that make? Growing up I dreamed of being an owl because they seemed so wise and free. They didn’t need materials to define their identity. They were on their own schedule. Sleeping when most are awake and feasting at night when most least expect. I’d hear their hoots from a far, and If I was lucky, I’d find the culprit. So much mystery- too much to be locked away and stripped of their game with prey. Maybe it was my love for them that brought me here. Or maybe she cried out to me hoping I’d set her free. I was always an adventurous girl, but even I was stunned that I was trekking through the woods alone at night. It was as if something was calling me; a call that I couldn’t ignore. An hour passed and I was covered in dirt and twigs. This area was unfamiliar to me, but my swift and sure moves said otherwise. In all this darkness, shined a light. Suddenly, I knew that was my beacon. There was a window to a house I’d never seen before. I had no idea where I was or whose land I was trespassing on. I didn’t care; I followed my gut. I looked in and big, beautiful eyes pierced through me. The fire behind them set a flame to my heart.

Scared? Nervous? I should have been. Instead, I was exhilarated. This mysterious creature was looking for me this time. It was as if she’d known I was on my way. Although, we were separated through glass and I never “officially” learned to speak bird; we communicated through silence and through stares. This wasn’t my first attempt at talking to my winged friends, but my chirps never seemed up to par.

This time I didn’t have to convince myself that I was heard. I felt it deep in my soul and that fierce bird did too.

A lot of people love owls, but yet they know little about them. Like how they can turn their heads almost 360 degrees or that their distant relatives of dinosaurs. Some people are frightened because their talons are extremely sharp, and I know this firsthand. On one of my excursions to visit Orgone, that’s what I called my new pal, I watched as this lady received a crimson gash down her face, because she caged an owl. Some would think it was an act of defile- that the owl was trying to attack her. But this bird was simply trying to fly and forgot it was stuck in an 11 x 12 ft. room. Thankfully I saw them, and no one saw me. I hurried home, unsure if I would return.

My visits there began to drain me. The long hikes and the nagging feeling that she yearned to be out here with me became unbearable. Never had I imagined I’d be freer than something with wings. She was cared for, fed, and there was an unconditional bond between her and the sweet bird lady. And yet, all I could hear were her thoughts of returning to the starry night. Of spreading her wings when and wherever she pleased.

I wondered, why me? Why pick me to bother with such a heavy burden? I was just a young lady who wished she was a bird. How could I possibly be of any help?

I stopped visiting and her cries grew louder and louder in my mind. I thought maybe I could move on with life and so would she. But no- the more time I spent away from that enchanting place the more tiresome I grew. It was as if she was sucking the life out of me even though I was miles away. I know how crazy this may sound, but I know what I heard was real. I can’t explain it, but I ended up back there peering through the glass. Last, I remember I was asleep safe and sound and now my feet were leaving the ground. How did I get out of bed? How was my hometown in the distance and I headed straight towards the moon? It was Orgone! I looked to my left and she was soaring right beside me. I felt this incredible sensation where my arms used to be. In their place were the most beautiful black wings I’d ever seen. Orgone said, “this was always your destiny; to be free to roam wildly.” I snickered because I always knew there was more out there for me to explore. So many places felt wrong, like I didn’t belong. This sky, it felt like home. As clique as it may sound, I pinched myself to make sure I wasn’t dreaming. I didn’t wake up and this was truer than anything.

We just kept flying and flying, together all the way to the Orion.

wild animals
Like

About the Creator

Tierra Idelis

Writing is my survival. It is my therapy and my release. It’s a way to set free the many aspects of me. Take a dive into my complex ocean of emotion.

*Poet, writer, musician, lover, goddess, tree hugger, and dreamer*

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.