Petlife logo

Adventure Cat Interview | Poseidon the Bengal

This adventure kitty spends most of his life on the water!😱

By Shadow the Adventure CatPublished 2 years ago • 4 min read
Top Story - January 2022
25
Photo Credit: Poseidon

Like most social media savvy kitties, I spend a lot of time on Instagram. My favorite accounts are of other adventure kitties exploring the world with their hoomans.

Many people are impressed with my feats as a full-time RV cat who's lived in two countries with my missus. But, I'm a small fry in the grand scheme of adventure kitties.

Poseidon is an excellent example of what I mean! This kitty lives on a boat, goes paddleboarding, loves car rides, and even goes shopping with his hoomans. Here's what Poseidon had to say about his adventures!

1. How Old Are You and What Is Your Name?

Photo Credit: Poseidon

I’m Poseidon and I’ll be one year old on January 23rd. My hoomans live a life on the water most of the year; therefore they named me after the God of the Seas. We have a boat in a marina on Lake Erie; it looks like an ocean complete with waves, but I still love it. We do a lot of island hopping and hanging out at different marinas.

2. How Old Were You When You First Started Adventuring With Your Human?

Photo Credit: Poseidon

I met my hoomans in April, when I was 12 weeks old. I was born in Austin, TX, at a fabulous home with a breeder who gave me and my siblings lots of love and attention. My hoomans came to Texas and got me and put me on an airplane and flew back to Ohio with me.

So, I guess my adventuring began that day and it’s never slowed down. They put me in a harness on that day and I never minded it, so they just continued doing new things with me.

I’ve hiked, gone to many restaurant and bar patios, they take me shopping in pet-friendly stores (my favorite is PetCo and PetSmart), I’ve kayaked, boated, gone paddleboarding, swimming and rafting. They say they’re going to take me sled riding and snowboarding this winter if we ever get enough snow.

One time took me on vacation to Colorado with them and let me hike in the mountains and I rode in a gondola to the top of a ski resort. I love car rides too since I have my very own booster seat. I hear that a bike basket has been purchased so that this summer I can go on bike rides.

3. Why Did Your Hooman Choose the Bengal Breed for Adventuring?

Photo Credit: Poseidon

My catdad and catmom have always loved cats. I hear they have even owned dogs before but decided that cat life was easier for their active lifestyle. They had owned Bengals before, although I never got to meet the other Bengals.

My hoomans love Bengal cats because we train more easily than some kitties, we have a lot of confidence, and we usually enjoy water. My hoomans love kayaking and boating so they say I’m the purrfect match. They say they have always owned cats, and most have been stray kitties they’ve adopted, but they also have a soft spot for my breed.

4. How Did Your Human Prep You for a Life of Adventure?

Photo Credit: Poseidon

They prepped me when I was a teeny kitten by frequently letting me wear a harness and using a leash. They tried many different harnesses until they found one that worked perfect. They took me everywhere they possibly could, so that I became familiar with odd sights and sounds. Meowmy even took me to her office so I could be exposed to strange sounds and strangers.

Each time I handled something new without feat they kept exposing me to something different. I have a lot of confidence; sometimes meowmy says I have too much confidence and am very stubborn. But I’m a cat and I know I rule the house.

5. How Did Your Hooman Convince You to Get on a Paddleboard?

Photo Credit: Poseidon

The paddleboard began after I had been boating and kayaking. We also have a raft that I float on in Lake Erie. So, when my parents decided to go paddleboarding with me, they put the paddleboard into our farm pond and let me float around while they swam beside the board.

I wasn’t afraid, so the paddleboarding progressed into more paddleboarding and then the next thing I knew I was paddleboarding in places other than the pond. I still rather kayak than paddleboard though. On the kayak, I can sit on the nose and observe the sights, but then when I get too hot I can crawl underneath and take a nap.

Wow, this first year went fast and I did so much awesome stuff! Follow my adventures on Instagram!

Final Meowzings

Did you enjoy Poseidon's story? I sure did! Adventure cats are sometimes quite difficult to get a hold of for interviews because they get quite famous and snooty on Instagram. Poseidon isn't like that at all. So, special thanks to my new kitty friend for taking the time to chat with l'il ole me!

Want to see more interviews like this? Leave me a tip so I can bribe snooty adventure cats with tuna and catnip---or keep it all to myself!

cat
25

About the Creator

Shadow the Adventure Cat

I adventure full-time with my missus in her FJ Cruiser. Airbnbs, tents, RV living—we do it all. Come find out how to adventure with your kitty, or just see what I've been up to on the road. Meow!

I love pledges and tips for tuna and catnip!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.