Petlife logo

Adapt-able Horsemanship - Derby Video 1 - Ground Manners and Equipment

Inspiration from my Youtube Channel

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3

Adapt-able Horsemanship – Derby Video One – Some Ground Manners & Equipment

Inspiration From My Youtube Channel

Here is the first video of Derby from October 2021, for my Youtube channel, Adapt-able Horsemanship. You can view it and others by clicking the link below – please subscribe, share and turn on your notifications!

I have mobility issues due to a progressive, genetic condition affecting me neurologically. I use the Youtube channel, write-ups and videos to showcase the adaptations I have made over time to continue safely and effectively working with horses. I made a choice to consider new ways to pursue my passion.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I wasn’t always affected physically. I grew up with “normal” abilities and learned to work with and train horses in the typical natural horsemanship/roundpenning sort of way. I tried for a long time, too long, to keep working in the ways I had learned; many of the ways that had become second nature. But I was often becoming more-and-more frustrated with my ineffectiveness and declining physical abilities. I needed to figure out new ways, or give it up. Horses are in my blood. Giving it up did not seem like a realistic option. So I’m learning new ways. And it’s slow progress sometimes because I’m still learning, but it’s also amazing!

First of all, notice the vest I wear. This is just a hunting vest. It has large pockets so I can easily carry treats and grooming supplies.

This horse is Derby. He is a 2013 Appaloosa gelding that was raised by me. He has a willing attitude and tries hard to do what’s asked, which makes him easy and fun to work with. We still have a ways to go, but his good nature keeps me inspired!

He is first to come for haltering and leads nicely while I walk along the fence rail for balance. You can see this in the beginning of the video.

I put him in the pen for grooming and hoof work so I can line him up with the panels for my balance. You can see he remains untied, and I often don’t even hold him with the lead. He stands nicely for grooming all over, and lifts his feet for cleaning without a fuss – for the most part. You can see with a hind foot that he did give me some trouble, as I was unbalanced. When we fixed the issue, he was cooperative.

In the next segment, we do some longing. I call this modified longing, as I am seated and use a shorter, thicker rope instead of a typical longeline. This exercise is focused more on obedience than proper conditioning as would be typical longeline work.

I use an overturned bucket as a seat and lift the rope over my head. This is one reason I like to use a shorter, thicker rope. It has less chance of getting tangled with my body. I also typically do not use a whip. It’s just too much for my hands to coordinate! The horses learn voice commands and body language. I point in the direction I want them to go and use the end of the rope on the ground for encouragement if needed.

This all takes time, consistency and patience, but it is so worth it! The horses have benefit so much, and so have I! We’re all still learning and improving, but what it means is that as long as I remain open and willing to learn, I can keep doing what I love! We all can – regardless of our passions. Maybe, just maybe, it’s time to reconsider what you’re doing. Instead of just giving up, maybe find a new way to try.

horse
3

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.