Petlife logo

A Shared Mission

A story of the individuals that make the impossible, possible.

By DC HopePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I am A Mustang

 I come from the lost and unwanted

Run aways and throw aways

I was vital in settling this nation

I have Bone as strong as steel

Hooves as thick as rock

Hide tough as armor

I am fearless

I am intelligent

I am balanced

I have been called worthless... But I am priceless

I have no pedigree

no papers

But I prove my loyalty and value

I am a piece of American History.

My ancestors served in the army

Pulled mine cars

Delivered mail

I am America's future

I patrol the border

I search for the missing

I conquer the most difficult trails and terrain

I am a Legend

I Am A Mustang

** * **

I, am a mustang advocate. I grew up getting to live a life that most girls dream of. I got my first pony for Christmas when I was five. I started showing quarter horses when I was eight and quickly rose in skill. I won more ribbons than I could count and by the time I was twelve I was being taught how to train horses. My favorite movies were The Black Stallion and Flicka.

I coveted the bond forged by trust between a person and a wild horse. Two years ago, I got to live my dream.

I adopted two American Mustangs. My number one pick was a beautiful bay mare with a floaty trot. I hadn’t actually planned on getting two but when I heard that a gelding on my short list had been dropped by his adopter I was quick to snatch him up. Tag numbers 5880 and 5690 became Cahaba and Ramses.

Ramses was a curious and gentle boy but was much older than he was advertised. After being confirmed to be closer if not over 25 rather than 16 I decided to let him just be a pasture puff. Sadly what should have been an easy life of luxury wasn’t meant to be. Ramses started losing weight and no matter what we did he just wouldn’t gain it back. After a lot of research and vet consultation it was determined that he had a debilitating disease known to the horse world as EPM.

Equine Protozoal Myeloencephalitis (EPM) is a master of disguise. It is a serious disease that can be difficult to diagnose because its signs often mimic other health problems (including old age) and can range from mild to severe. The herd my two came from has had a number of horses diagnosed with this illness.

It is believed that more than 50 percent of all horses in the United States may have been exposed to the organism that causes EPM. The disease isn’t transmitted from horse to horse (THANKFULLY).

When a horse eats grass or hay that an opossum defecated in the horse can become infected by the nasty protozoa. EPM can be effectively treated, however treatment is aggressive and at 25 years old it just wasn’t right to push him and stress him. Ramses was allowed to live that last year of his life knowing love and in the end that was most important to me.

Quality over Quantity.

There are approximately 40,000 mustangs in short and long term holding facilities. Lets be clear, these horses are not abused or neglected. The Mustang Heritage Foundation and Mustang advocates across the country do everything in their power to raise awareness and promote adoption through events like the Extreme Mustang Makeover and Trainer Incentive Programs as well as trainer competitions. Sadly, even with programs, shows, and promotional events Hollywood has perpetuated a stereotype that many trainers don’t want to touch and many others that want to help feel like they aren’t ready to handle the responsibility and obstacles that come along with mustang ownership.

That is where TIP trainers and store front owners come in to play. These are a special group of people that love the pedigree-less breed of strong bodied and even stronger minded horses. These individuals take groups of horses and either start the gentling process or keep them in smaller holding pens where they can become better accustomed to humans.

They care for these horses out of their own pocket which can come to thousands of dollars a month depending on the size of the group. They advertise the horses on social media, hold open houses and compete in competitions with select horses in hopes of finding them all homes. They work their butts off to get these animals out of holding pens and into the hands of others that love the strays of the west.

September 2021 many mares were gathered while pregnant. Some mares were able to be transported while pregnant to their adopters where they were able to deliver under the supervision of experienced handlers and veterinarians.

Other mares were either not adopted right away or were too pregnant to safely transport. These mares delivered foals in the holding pens. Now these mare foal combos need to get home.

Two amazing women in Florida have adopted five of these mares, two of which have babies by their side. They were originally quoted $1600 per horse to transport from Northern California to North Florida. With the rise in fuel prices the transporter contacted them with a $400 per horse price increase. If the extra $2000 cant be raised by the end of May three of the mares and a baby will have to be left behind. If they get left, the baby will be separated from his mother and they will be put back up for adoption separately.

I have made a new shirt design to specifically raise money for these ladies to get these horses home. This photo is of Willow and her colt Spruce, one of the mom baby pairs that need a ride home.

Help get Willow and Spruce home

I am running a fundraiser on Bonfire. You can view the fundraiser at the link bellow

Authors Note: As always, thank you so much for the read and I sincerely hope that you consider supporting this cause. Even if all you do is share this article or the fundraiser you will be helping to better the life of a living legend.

horse
Like

About the Creator

DC Hope

I am a mother, a wife and all the things that comes in that pretty package. i have a passion for romantic and paranormal fiction and psychology. i write for my own sanity and to give a little bit of an escape to those that want to get lost.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.