Petlife logo

A Pet Owner's Journey (Pt. 16)

Knowing Your Place on the Totem Pole

By Samantha ReidPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Roxy, age 5

There is never a dull moment when you own a dog. They are a constant surprise. Their personalities change over time. Their actions will sometimes never make sense to you. They are endless entertainment. And they usually make great cuddle buddies. I'm a little biased towards dogs as pets, but I own one so I think that gives me a pass.

Roxy has been a little bit clingy since we came back from Christmas vacation. I can't blame her. She was without us for two and a half weeks and I believe she lives in a state of fear that we are going to abandon her again.

She's not happy when we leave the house. She's overjoyed when we return. And she refuses to lay anywhere other than directly below my feet or my partner's feet. Then she knows when we get up and move around.

She's also been a little bit spoiled since we got home. Treats and belly rubs have been a consistent thing in her life lately. I feel bad for having left her for so long and she is really good at giving a guilty expression.

German Shepherds are loyal dogs. I am her master. In my absence, my partner is her master. But she is never in charge. She knows this. She respects this. And she rarely toes a line when it comes to this fact.

We are her people, her pack, her family. She will protect us if necessary. And despite her relaxed state, I know what she is capable of if she believes that we are threatened in any way. It is instinctual to her.

German Shepherds are great family dogs, but it is imperative that you establish a totem pole of authority within your household. The dog must be aware of who is on top, and who follows them down that chain of command. The dog must be made aware that their place is at the bottom of the totem pole.

This doesn't make them less essential to the household. The person at the bottom of the totem pole is responsible for holding everyone up and keeping it standing. Dogs are very good at being foundational members of a household. They are there for you no matter what. They know when you're sick. They know when you're in trouble. They know when you're sad. And they will do their best to try and fix the situation.

We really don't deserve dogs. It is no surprise that they were domesticated and are called "man's best friend." There are such extreme lengths that dogs will go to for their owners that it is preposterous. Some family and friends would not even go to the lengths that our dogs would. They truly are wonderful creatures.

Roxy, despite all of her quirks, is a fantastic dog. She is great for the family. She is great to travel with. She is great to cuddle. She truly is a wonderful pet.

And as she gets older she changes. She becomes calmer. She becomes more loving. She learns new things. She may only be 5 years old, but she is very different than when I got her at 3.

Two years after adopting her I still don't regret the decision in the least. She is a part of my life now and I plan to keep her there for as long as she lives.

If she can provide me with love, loyalty, and stability then the least I can do is give her a warm home, a soft bed, and all the dog treats she could ever want.

Thanks, as always, for reading another Roxy adventure. Find us next time as we continue on "A Pet Owner's Journey."

dog
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Reid

I have been a creative writer for over 10 years, an academic for 7 years, and a blogger for 3 years. Writing is my passion and it's what I love.

Follow me on Instagram @samreid2992

Find me on Twitter @SgReid211

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.