Petlife logo

A one of a kind mutt!

My little furball.

By stephanie borgesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I love my animals; I love cats. They are smart, independent, and have a unique personality. But I never thought in a million years I would ever consider getting a dog. It's funny how animals come into your life. But my dog Rozi came into my life for an extraordinary reason. The year was 2009, and things weren't going well. It was 2009 when the recession happens, and employment was going down. I was working at a temp job that I loved so much, and I was great at it, but I wasn't able to get a permanent position. (I won't mention the name of the company, but I will say the job was desktop publishing.) I got told that many were going to get laid off. That very night my mom came home with a new puppy (Rozi). I wasn't thrilled about the puppy because I was a cat person. Rozi wanted to be around me a lot, but I would just tell Rozi, "shoo, go away." Even my cat Amber (deceased in 2018) didn't like her and would swing at her. About two months Rozi and Amber became friends, and I started to like Rozi. She would comfort me when I would come home crying because I was getting close to getting laid off.

The day I knew Rozi was meant to be in my life was the day she saved my life. I got laid off from my job, and my parents and I were in the process of losing the house that we had for seventeen years. And I was struggling to keep up with my classes. After two weeks of depression and things not getting any better, I had decided to take my own life. I remember writing a note about why I wanted to kill myself, then grabbing a razor blade and just as I was about to cut my wrist when my dog jumps on my wrist, looking at me with sad eyes as if she was begging me not to do it. I dropped the razor blade then I tried to push her off my arm, but she would not let go. She started to bark. I didn't know why until I saw the cat running towards me and hopped on my other side. I tried to grab the razor blade again, but this time, the cat hissed at me; it was almost like Amber and Rozi were working together to stop me from killing myself. And what felt like hours but was five minutes I heard the front door open it was my husband Ian coming in. (At that time he was my boyfriend, and we weren't living together.) Since that day, Rozi won't leave my side, so she became my emotional support animal. She was one of the inspirations for a comic strip I am working on that I called 'That's my Dawg' Rozi has a scene of humor, especially when it comes to chasing her tail, it's funny because she will lay down on the floor then roll on her back and wag her tail so she can try and catch it. It makes me laugh.

I love my dog Rozi; she is becoming a senior dog, she sleeps more but tries not to leave my side unless I have to go to work, I wish I could take her to work with me especially during this crazy pandemic time. But she is not adequately trained to not interacted with people while she has her harness. Rozi is, in my opinion, a one of a kind dog, and I don't mean by breed (she is a corgi maltese mix, to give a better detail description think of a golden retriever the size of a cat.) I mean in personality.

dog
1

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.